We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durango is expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durango Lodge
Save Saved
You added Durango Lodge to your Saves list
150 E 5th, Durango, CO   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Durango
Spring City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Durango is expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

During our 2 night stay we could not get an extra room key because the key machine was broken. The room was adequate but the parking lot was small. A short walk to the train station. Room rates seem high but that's Durango.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    63
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
35
59
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights in early August, 2013. Hotel is a bit dated, but clean and looked well-kept. Reasonably sized rooms. Bathrooms are a bit dated as well, but clean and fully functional. Air conditioning was a bit mysterious, but we eventually figured out the controls. The pool is relatively small, but we didn't see many people using it, so space shouldn't be an issue. Nice Jacuzzi too, which we needed after our mountain adventure. Parking lot is small, but the owners have made arrangements for secondary parking (just ask). Shouldn't be any need for an extended search for parking.

Two factors really make this place in my view. First, the staff were invariably polite, friendly, and helpful. We visited Durango as a base for a backpacking trip in the nearby San Juans. The Lodge stored our stuff while we were in the backcountry, and made accommodation for us when we reappeared early due to ugly weather in the mountains. Second, the Lodge is at the edge of downtown Durango. Easy walking access to the Steam Train, downtown restaurants and pubs, and pretty much everything you might want to do in Durango. That's why we never sampled the complimentary breakfast; too easy to wander down Main St. a few blocks to hit one of the coffee places. Also, a short shot to major roads if you want to venture out of Durango, to Mesa Verde say, or to some of the great nearby mountain biking trails.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Friendly people, very clean and great location to main street where all bars and restaurants are located. Also right next to Durango train station for senic train ride that is very popular . Breakfast good too

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great location for boarding the train, to see a movie or anything else you may want to do in town. The breakfast is a bit modest and the lobby is really too small to even do a breakfast. The rooms are very nice, the bathrooms are modern and very clean and neat. Finding a parking space may take a few trips around the block, but you'll get one. All in all, a very nice stay, worth the money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This has to be the best budget choice when visiting Durango. It is a five minute walk from the railroad and the town itself and is perfect in that regard. We found the staff to be friendly and happy to help. The pool area is pretty small, but was a great place to get the late afternoon sun after a day exploring.
The room was clean and comfortable and we had no complaints. The breakfast area is small, but was well stocked with a choice of breakfast fare. We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel was clean and you are right in the heart of this fun town. My kids enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub. Breakfast was a disappointment. It is located in the lobby/front desk area. It is a small area, so be prepared to grab and go. More disappointing, was the lady at the front desk. The entire time we were grabbing our breakfast, she never looked up or acknowledged us. So much for customer service! Not sure if I would stay there again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

At check-in I was told a mistake had been made about the rate and the clerk charged the higher amount. However, when I spoke to the manager in the morning she immediately credited by account with no argument. The room was clean, but had a slightly musty odor and we felt like we were in a basement room. Window was below street level. We later discovered a very wet spot near wall on carpet and told a maintenance person. Later, that day,when we came back to our room there was a large fan on the floor and even when we again returned about 10:00 PM the fan was still roaring away. Floor was still damp! We noticed another fan in the hallway so we disconnected ours and put it out also. The location was fabulous and the price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor or on the parking lot side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Durango
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.