We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durango is expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Durango Lodge to your Saves list
Durango Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 E 5th, Durango, CO   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Best Rate
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Spring City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Durango is expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

During our 2 night stay we could not get an extra room key because the key machine was broken. The room was adequate but the parking lot was small. A short walk to the train station. Room rates seem high but that's Durango.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    82
    37
    6
    9
See reviews for
45
85
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights in early August, 2013. Hotel is a bit dated, but clean and looked well-kept. Reasonably sized rooms. Bathrooms are a bit dated as well, but clean and fully functional. Air conditioning was a bit mysterious, but we eventually figured out the controls. The pool is relatively small, but we didn't see many people using it, so space shouldn't be an issue. Nice Jacuzzi too, which we needed after our mountain adventure. Parking lot is small, but the owners have made arrangements for secondary parking (just ask). Shouldn't be any need for an extended search for parking.

Two factors really make this place in my view. First, the staff were invariably polite, friendly, and helpful. We visited Durango as a base for a backpacking trip in the nearby San Juans. The Lodge stored our stuff while we were in the backcountry, and made accommodation for us when we reappeared early due to ugly weather in the mountains. Second, the Lodge is at the edge of downtown Durango. Easy walking access to the Steam Train, downtown restaurants and pubs, and pretty much everything you might want to do in Durango. That's why we never sampled the complimentary breakfast; too easy to wander down Main St. a few blocks to hit one of the coffee places. Also, a short shot to major roads if you want to venture out of Durango, to Mesa Verde say, or to some of the great nearby mountain biking trails.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Friendly people, very clean and great location to main street where all bars and restaurants are located. Also right next to Durango train station for senic train ride that is very popular . Breakfast good too

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great location for boarding the train, to see a movie or anything else you may want to do in town. The breakfast is a bit modest and the lobby is really too small to even do a breakfast. The rooms are very nice, the bathrooms are modern and very clean and neat. Finding a parking space may take a few trips around the block, but you'll get one. All in all, a very nice stay, worth the money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This has to be the best budget choice when visiting Durango. It is a five minute walk from the railroad and the town itself and is perfect in that regard. We found the staff to be friendly and happy to help. The pool area is pretty small, but was a great place to get the late afternoon sun after a day exploring.
The room was clean and comfortable and we had no complaints. The breakfast area is small, but was well stocked with a choice of breakfast fare. We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel was clean and you are right in the heart of this fun town. My kids enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub. Breakfast was a disappointment. It is located in the lobby/front desk area. It is a small area, so be prepared to grab and go. More disappointing, was the lady at the front desk. The entire time we were grabbing our breakfast, she never looked up or acknowledged us. So much for customer service! Not sure if I would stay there again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

At check-in I was told a mistake had been made about the rate and the clerk charged the higher amount. However, when I spoke to the manager in the morning she immediately credited by account with no argument. The room was clean, but had a slightly musty odor and we felt like we were in a basement room. Window was below street level. We later discovered a very wet spot near wall on carpet and told a maintenance person. Later, that day,when we came back to our room there was a large fan on the floor and even when we again returned about 10:00 PM the fan was still roaring away. Floor was still damp! We noticed another fan in the hallway so we disconnected ours and put it out also. The location was fabulous and the price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor or on the parking lot side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#1 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#19 of 30 in Durango
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel in downtown Durango. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Durango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.