We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durango Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Durango Lodge to your Saves list
Durango Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 E 5th, Durango, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Stroud
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Durango Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel was fine and the balcony was nice. It was however the perfect spot to stay if you are going on the Durango Silverton train as it is right by the station.
The pool and hot tub were also a bonus.
All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    70
    31
    6
    8
See reviews for
38
70
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Me and my family really liked this hotel. We stayed here about a month ago and the location was fantastic and was close to all the attractions in the town. The rooms were also very clean and big. The staff were really nice too. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This place stunk so bad that we couldn't stay. Even the hallway leading to the room wreaked! The double queen room was dark and damp and smelled awful. We took the key back and said no thanks. The location was close to downtown but that's all I can say nice about it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has favorable reviews and my husband and I were looking for a nice, reasonably priced place to stay in Durango for the night of July 10th. I called ahead at about 5pm and asked if there was availability. The woman who answered said "no". I asked, being as pleasant as I know how, if she could recommend a comparable place, and she answered, "Well, I don't know has availability, but I hear the Doubletree is nice." !!! Well, obviously, if we could afford the Doubletree, I wouldn't have been calling this place to begin with! As if this smartassiness wasn't enough, after arriving in Durango and checking in to another place, we went downtown to explore. We spotted the Durango Lodge, which had a clearly displayed "vacancy" sign lit up! What's going in here, Durango Lodge? I know resort town people get jaded dealing with us pesky, aggravating tourists, but it is, after all, we who provide you with your means of income, right? You could at least try to pleasant and helpful, not to mention truthful!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, Maine
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is walking distance to just about everything Durango has to offer. Nice clean room with plenty of room. Front desk was very polite. The donuts were a nice treat for breakfast. You get what you pay for at the Durango Lodge

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Durango is a great place to visit but it is not an inexpensive place. I was a little apprehensive about this motel when I booked the rooms. I was concerned about the condition and cleanliness, because the price of the room was $80 to $150 cheaper than most of the other motels and I did not want to spend $200 plus each night for a room. When we checked in and got to our room I was very pleased. Yes this is an older motel but it is very clean and the location is GREAT..The motel is 1/2 block from the Train station, 1 block from downtown and within walking distance of a dozen or more restaurants (T's Smokehouse & Grill, Francisco's both have great food). Lady at the desk was very nice, outdoor pool, some what limited parking, office and breakfast area is small but overall the motel is a great value. If you are in Durango to spend a lot of time in the motel and you have extra money to give away then don't stay here but if want a clean room and great location and want extra money to spend on other things then this is the motel for you. I was very pleased and I am not an easy person to please.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Everything clean and spotless. Nice and quite. Only a couple of block from the train station. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby. The only draw back is no elevator. We were given a room on the second floor and it was hard to carry up the heavy bags.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel in downtown Durango. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Durango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.