We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durango Lodge
Save Saved
You added Durango Lodge to your Saves list
150 E 5th, Durango, CO   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Durango
North Berwick, Maine
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Close to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is walking distance to just about everything Durango has to offer. Nice clean room with plenty of room. Front desk was very polite. The donuts were a nice treat for breakfast. You get what you pay for at the Durango Lodge

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    64
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
35
60
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Durango is a great place to visit but it is not an inexpensive place. I was a little apprehensive about this motel when I booked the rooms. I was concerned about the condition and cleanliness, because the price of the room was $80 to $150 cheaper than most of the other motels and I did not want to spend $200 plus each night for a room. When we checked in and got to our room I was very pleased. Yes this is an older motel but it is very clean and the location is GREAT..The motel is 1/2 block from the Train station, 1 block from downtown and within walking distance of a dozen or more restaurants (T's Smokehouse & Grill, Francisco's both have great food). Lady at the desk was very nice, outdoor pool, some what limited parking, office and breakfast area is small but overall the motel is a great value. If you are in Durango to spend a lot of time in the motel and you have extra money to give away then don't stay here but if want a clean room and great location and want extra money to spend on other things then this is the motel for you. I was very pleased and I am not an easy person to please.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Everything clean and spotless. Nice and quite. Only a couple of block from the train station. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby. The only draw back is no elevator. We were given a room on the second floor and it was hard to carry up the heavy bags.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

we stayed here in june 2013 and found the hotel very clean and comfortable.. everything was within walking distance and couple blocks from the train so you can watch the smoke engine come in the morning and arrive in the late afternoon with a short walk..they have a pool and hot tub enclosed outside for privacy. nice continental breakfast. only problem I saw was book early, .because sold out with a sign saying everyday I was there .lots of shops and bars to go .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala,Florida, U.s.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Durango Lodge for 2 nights. We found our room to be very comfortable. We had a parking space right by our door. The location cannot be beat, about 1/2 block away from the railroad. The front office staff were helpful and friendly. We were also very near tyhe main street which is full of restaurants and shoppes. The breakfast was your regular continental fare, but that was just what was advertised. We went to a yummy bagel shop very near the hotel to have our breakfast. We had a wonderful meal at Franciscos, and a lousy experience at Gazpacho, which is next door to the hotel. Service was lousy to say the least. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Durango.

Room Tip: Be aware there is no elevator for second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Room was ok for 1 night. We had asked for a balcony room which we got that overlooked the parking lot, but that was ok. We stayed here based on the reviews from TripAdvisor as well as it was so close to everything downtown; it is right by the train station and the Palace Restaurant which we walked to and had dinner. The next morning, we turned down the continental breakfast offered since someone on TripAdvisor had said it was nothing more then donuts and cereal, etc. We saw exactly that and opted to walk to the bagel shop and have cofee and bagels there.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony room, ask for one facing the street or opposite side of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

must have fired the rude staffer as we had nothing but pleasant staff. Room is clean and comfortable and is RIGHT downtown. Parked the motorcycle for two days and walked to everything, furthest we needed to walk was maybe 7 blocks. Next door to the Durango and Silverton Railroad and just blocks from good restaurants and brewpubs. Rate was very competative considering the location. The only thing not making this hotel excellent would be the limited breakfast, no computer/business center, and it could need slight updating. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Durango
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.