We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durango Lodge
Save
You added Durango Lodge to your Saves list
150 E 5th, Durango, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Price, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It's located right near the train station in Durango and walking distance from everything else in town. We felt the staff were nice. The hallways could use a little more light, but the rooms were nice and clean. Nothing fancy, but pretty good for the price and location. I would stay here again if I'm in Durango again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    68
    28
    6
    8
See reviews for
37
66
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is centrally located, just a minutes walk from the Durango railway station. There is free parking for residents and the rooms are very clean. It has free high speed wi-fi and an inclusive continental breakfast which is a standard breakfast for this type of place. There is also a hot tub which we didn't use. For value for money this place can't be beaten and will be my choice if I ever return to Durango. Also, on arriving, we had an issues which we needed to sort out. This was in no way connected to this hotel yet the receptionist Andrea did everything she could for us and more. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: There are also rooms with balconies if you want one ask as not all rooms have them. Then again you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here one night. It's a plain, no frills kind of place, but very reasonably priced and is located right downtown. It's right near the train station. The room was very clean, and the person at the front desk was friendly and accommodating. There was a continental breakfast, nothing great (some bagels and cold cereal), but again I wasn't expecting a lot for the price. There's also a jaccuzzi, but I didn't check it out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights based on TripAdvisor reviews. The rooms are good, comfortable bed and the location is great if you don't want to drive to go out for dinner, etc. The stay was ruined for me by the young man at the front desk. He was not friendly in the slightest and I got the distinct impression he was put out by our arrival. I am an asthmatic and had forgotten to take my puffer that morning, and began coughing while checking in. Although I moved away from the desk and covered my mouth, I received a very curt 'excuse you' from the desk clerk. I was going to explain to him I wasn't contagious, etc, but couldn't be bothered when I saw him glaring at me. He didn't telll us that our rooom had an internal door and we spent ages walking around the outside of the hotel looking for our room. He didn't offer any information about the hotel at all, or parking,etc We ended up parking in an area that stated clearly that if our parking voucher from the hotel was not displayed on the dash cars would be towed away. When I went back inside to ask for one I was told I didn't need one. When I pointed out the signage he told me to just stick one of their business cards on the dash. It was only a number of small incidents, but it was our first contact with staff at the hotel and it coloured the whole stay there. There are numerous places to stay in Durango and I myself will be trying them out when I next visit, rather than returning to this hotel. I do have to mention that other staff we encountered during the stay were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Small motel within walking distance of downtown Durango. Very clean, updated decor, and great wi-fi. The owners have gone to great lengths to make your stay enjoyable. There are extra plug ins everywhere! In addition, there was a power strip by the bed. How many times have you wished for a tray to bring breakfast back to the room? This place has a stack of trays for your convenience in the breakfast area. Check out is noon! Breakfast until ten. Very efficient staff. Will definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: We stayed during off season. No problem with room close to the front. Possibly during busier times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We came through Durango returning from the Grand Canyon. The room was very clean. The staff was polite. On the backside of the hotel is a beautiful stream with a nice walking path. Close to downtown shops. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a hard day out on the trail my friend and I were looking for a clean and quiet place to stay. Tripadvisor ranked the Durango Lodge high up on the list so we gave it a shot. The place was well located in town allowing you to walk to any restaurants or pub with in a few minutes. If your in Durango to enjoy the train it is also very close to the hotel. Staff was friendly, room was clean and most of all quiet. I would recommend this Hotel for if your on a trip with friends or even with family. Next season when we have a family trip the Lodge will be on my short list.

Room Tip: Can park the car and walk where ever you need to in downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.