We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durango Lodge
150 E 5th, Durango, CO   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Durango
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great local place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a hard day out on the trail my friend and I were looking for a clean and quiet place to stay. Tripadvisor ranked the Durango Lodge high up on the list so we gave it a shot. The place was well located in town allowing you to walk to any restaurants or pub with in a few minutes. If your in Durango to enjoy the train it is also very close to the hotel. Staff was friendly, room was clean and most of all quiet. I would recommend this Hotel for if your on a trip with friends or even with family. Next season when we have a family trip the Lodge will be on my short list.

Room Tip: Can park the car and walk where ever you need to in downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    62
    24
    5
    7
See reviews for
33
59
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nothing fancy, but spotlessly clean and comfortable, a great value. Not a Hotel I would have found on my own. I took the advice of Trip Advisor travelers, and once again was not disappointed. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The Hotel has been remodeled with TLC, the owners have gone out of their way to make the rooms feel like home. Every nook and cranny was spotless. The bed was cozy as well. The in-room coffee was even yummy, and we had the convenience of a refrigerator. A Waterpik shower head was a pleasant surprise, no bathtub though. We stayed on a Thursday night, it was nice and quiet, although, I wonder if the weekend would be the same. Very close to downtown restaurants and shops, a must if you stay in Durango, it's a quaint spot to be. We walked to dinner at the Carver Brewing Company where the food was great and the beer extraordinarily delicious. We didn't try the complimentary breakfast, we chose to eat out. I plan on staying at the Durango Lodge again, maybe have a steak at the Orr House across the street, (we hear it's fabulous) and take the train to the mountains at the Silverton Narrow Guage Railroad. (also a few steps away). September and October are great months to visit Durango, the Aspens are magical.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a balcony facing downtown. Although, this might not be the best choice on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here primarily because it was near the train station, but it turned out to be a great place within walking distance to all the restaurants as well. Our room was nice enough, but there was a bit of noise from foot traffic past our window. The breakfast was below average, but at least they had something.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath, Suffolk
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent one night here on our way from central Utah to Santa Fe. It was very easy to find, plenty of parking, check in was very friendly.
The room was great, the only thing we would have liked would have been a fridge. But the location is ideal - far enough from the traffic to be reasonably quiet, but near enough to walk to everywhere. We had a balcony room which was great. The breakfast was basic, but there was plenty and the doughnuts were lovely!
We will definitely choose Durango Lodge again if we are lucky enough to return to Durango.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, MI
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is an older motel, that has seen good upkeep and remodel. The rooms were spacious; very clean; bath products are above average. The continental breakfast is modest. The location is fantastic, as it is within walking distance of downtown and there is ample parking. The bed was firm and comfortable. The linens were clean; the towels, newer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel is nothing fancy but it's clean and the location is great. It's walking distance to everything in downtown Durango. It has a nice outdoor pool and enclosed hot tub. There's a small breakfast and coffee available in the morning. The best part, it's cheap compared to other downtown hotels.

Room Tip: Don't eat at T's Smokehouse & Grill located next door. Terrible barbeque!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We just spent 3 nights here & the location is perfect! You can walk to train, shops & many different places to eat! Staff is very helpful & friendly. Room was very clean. We had a balcony room which is very nice. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Durango
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Durango Lodge to your Saves list