We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped for dinner after the train” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gazpacho Restaurant

Gazpacho Restaurant
431 East 2nd Avenue, Durango, CO 81301-5601
970-259-9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 159 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Voted Durango's 2010 & 2011 Best Mexican Restaurant
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Stopped for dinner after the train”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Close restaurant to the train depot and was recommended by a local. The margaritas were great. The place has kinda of a tight feel but we enjoyed the meals we had and it was served in a timely manner. A little spicy but it worked for us.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    98
    32
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just as I remembered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stopped here on a family trip and it was our first time back in 20 years. Same reliable Mexican fare. Opt for the homemade pinto beans. Enjoy the sopapilla desert which is complementary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Unusual but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

It's not Tex Mex but then we didn't come to Colorado for our much loved Tex Mex Mexican food. We were told that this restaurant serves a New Mexico type of Mexican food. Having eaten a lot of Mexican food in New Mexico, I still found this food different. Perhaps it's a regional thing. The food, however, was excellent. Check it out.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average food if it was served warm or hot!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a bit of a "hole in the wall" restaurant. The downstairs was very hot so we moved ourselves upstairs (the staff seemed not to care that we were uncomfortable) where it was more tolerable. The menu is pretty complete. Certainly more southwestern, New Mexico that Tex-Mex. It's tough to rate the food since it was served refrigerator cold (hot on the edges - cold in the center) - TWICE! Our experience leads us to believe that this is a restaurant that just doesn't care to do it well. Good margaritas, though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We eat here all the time when we're in town. It's amazing. The food is terrific, the service is great and the prices are reasonable. Definitely try the carne adovada (spicy!) and the margaritas!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gazpacho Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gazpacho Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gazpacho Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.