We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals recommendation - very tasty.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gazpacho Restaurant

Gazpacho Restaurant
431 East 2nd Avenue, Durango, CO 81301-5601
970-259-9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 159 restaurants in Durango
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Voted Durango's 2010 & 2011 Best Mexican Restaurant
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Locals recommendation - very tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Wouldn't have found Gazpacho's without a tip from a local. Casual setting - wonderful Southwestern cooking!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    184
    92
    30
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Still the Only Authentic New Mexican Food in Durango!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you want it authentically hot, this is it. I grew up in New Mexico and go regularly to Gazpacho's for my chili fix. They never let you down! And Sean O'Neil never fails to make your dining experience a pleasant one. Thanks Sean!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancos, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent New Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Not many places outside of New Mexico can you find good spicy chile dishes. This is one of them. We eat here every time we are in Durango and ready for chile. I can't comment on everything on the menu because i get the Santa Fe Enchiladas every time. Excellent! Good service, good food, good atmosphere makes good dining. Sean O'Neil was our server last night, great patience and good service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier, Washington, United States
1 review
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our server was named Sean O'Neil. He was very quick, had great suggestions, and was overall very nice. My brother has lived in Durango for six years, and told me this server is the most consistent- always dependable to be in a good mood, no madder how busy it is.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Always excellent northern New Mexican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I live in Durango and my husband and I eat at Gazpacho regularly. Our favorite waiter is Sean O'Neill, who is always attentive, friendly and very helpful. The prices are reasonable and the menu is varied, including some of the best burgers around! Try the green chili cheeseburger -- it's fabulous! This is not what I'd call a "tourist" restaurant, although tourists seem to love it too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gazpacho Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gazpacho Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.