We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our expectations were higher than the results.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gazpacho Restaurant

Gazpacho Restaurant
431 East 2nd Avenue, Durango, CO 81301-5601
970-259-9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 160 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Voted Durango's 2010 & 2011 Best Mexican Restaurant
Fort Collins
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our expectations were higher than the results.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After several days of average food fit for tourists, we had high hopes from the reviews and the fact that my wife and I grew up on New Mexico "Mexican food". They advertise their chilies as HOT". So I took a chance and ordered it hot. Was a good thing, or there would have been no spicing at all. In spite of seeing lots of local college students there, the food was only tourist level Mexican food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    97
    32
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Conifer, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best handmade rellenos ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We had the special handmade rellenos. We've been eating Mexican food I've 50 years and never had a more unique and delicious chilli relleno. Everything else was also first rate including margaritas. Hanna wad a fantastic server.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Relaxed, tasty, very spicy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our group of 10 went to Gazpacho after a long backpacking trip, and found the quantity, taste and value of their menu to be very good, and service was prompt and friendly. Watch out if you are sensitive to spicy food, as everything we sampled was on the fiery end (which, in the name of full disclosure, they do mention in the ads for their restaurant).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New Mexican in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you're a Mexican food fan, then this amazing restaurant in the beautiful southern Colorado location of Durango is a must!

Being a Brit, we have not yet discovered New Mexican cooking, so coming across this little gem of a place was a real treat.
The staff were really helpful and friendly. The other customers were too! It felt like I was a local coming in for a regular meal and drink with friends.

The cooking was first class and I enjoyed experiencing the new style of Mexican cookery.

I would thoroughly recommend Gazpachio, whether you're staying in Durango, or just passing through.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had eaten here on a visit to Durango nearly a decade ago and decided to try again on this visit. We went for lunch. Chris was friendly and courteous. A very good waiter. And the food was excellent, particularly the gazpacho sampler. If we lived here we'd be in all the time, and we'd ask for Chris for our waiter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gazpacho Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gazpacho Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gazpacho Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.