We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best handmade rellenos ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gazpacho Restaurant

Gazpacho Restaurant
431 East 2nd Avenue, Durango, CO 81301-5601
970-259-9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 158 restaurants in Durango
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Voted Durango's 2010 & 2011 Best Mexican Restaurant
Conifer, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best handmade rellenos ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We had the special handmade rellenos. We've been eating Mexican food I've 50 years and never had a more unique and delicious chilli relleno. Everything else was also first rate including margaritas. Hanna wad a fantastic server.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    181
    91
    29
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxed, tasty, very spicy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our group of 10 went to Gazpacho after a long backpacking trip, and found the quantity, taste and value of their menu to be very good, and service was prompt and friendly. Watch out if you are sensitive to spicy food, as everything we sampled was on the fiery end (which, in the name of full disclosure, they do mention in the ads for their restaurant).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New Mexican in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you're a Mexican food fan, then this amazing restaurant in the beautiful southern Colorado location of Durango is a must!

Being a Brit, we have not yet discovered New Mexican cooking, so coming across this little gem of a place was a real treat.
The staff were really helpful and friendly. The other customers were too! It felt like I was a local coming in for a regular meal and drink with friends.

The cooking was first class and I enjoyed experiencing the new style of Mexican cookery.

I would thoroughly recommend Gazpachio, whether you're staying in Durango, or just passing through.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had eaten here on a visit to Durango nearly a decade ago and decided to try again on this visit. We went for lunch. Chris was friendly and courteous. A very good waiter. And the food was excellent, particularly the gazpacho sampler. If we lived here we'd be in all the time, and we'd ask for Chris for our waiter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“GAZPACHO RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had one of the best MEX. dinner at this restaurant. The food was a A+ as well as the service. There was 6 of us, we asked for separate checks, which is a problem in some restaurants but not here. The chips were great. A must stop.
BUD CARTER

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gazpacho Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gazpacho Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gazpacho Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.