We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eat with the locals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gazpacho Restaurant

Gazpacho Restaurant
431 East 2nd Avenue, Durango, CO 81301-5601
970-259-9494
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #16 of 157 restaurants in Durango
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Voted Durango's 2010 & 2011 Best Mexican Restaurant
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“eat with the locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Many more locals than tourists at this wonderful Mexican place. It is casual and crowded, but never waited more than 20 minutes for a table even at peak time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    175
    83
    28
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“the real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great service, excellent new Mexican options, and good prices. Not for the faint of heart as the chef knows his spicing. Try the chile options - red and green are both offered. The tortilla soup was chock full of meat, beans and good stuff.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting meal...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Service was very good and waitress knew the menu. There was nothing wrong with the food, it was just really different from any other Mexican food I've had. My daughter's steak was cooked perfectly and cut easily with a table knife.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sean's the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I've said it before and I'll say it again - Sean is the best thing they have other than the food! All the years I've gone there, he always takes the time to say hello and make sure we're taken of right. Even the tourists are thrilled. Customer service is tops on my list when I go out. I've never been disappointed when I sit in his section. The menu is consistent every time, even when they are swamped with hungry customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“!Ojala Jalapenos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nevermind the delicious offering of entrees. Forget the fantastic flavors of their Margarita menu. Disregard the awesomeness of their annual Chile Relleno extravaganza. And just ignore the crooked cow on the wall.
Take my advice and order the tacos a la carte. Ask your server which one is on special that evening and keep ordering them 'til your belly can take no more. They're the closest thing to street tacos I've had in a proper establishment since Mexico City.
Oh, and don't forget your free sopapilla that comes with... the honey-butter is heavenly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gazpacho Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gazpacho Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gazpacho Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Gazpacho Restaurant to your Saves list