We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Mexico style Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gazpacho Restaurant

Gazpacho Restaurant
431 East 2nd Avenue, Durango, CO 81301-5601
970-259-9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 160 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Voted Durango's 2010 & 2011 Best Mexican Restaurant
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“New Mexico style Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is New Mexico style Mexican food and it is very good!! They have a wide array of dishes for all sorts of tastes and a children's menu as well. Many of the dishes have a spicy sauce, which is very much New Mexico style, so be sure and ask if you want or do not want heat. If you are use to Tex Mex or Baja style you may be disappointed, so keep in mind this is not that type of Mexican food. They also have several dishes which offer the blue corn tortillas and/or chips. I have enjoyed many dishes they serve.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    189
    95
    30
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vacation dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful meal at Gazpacho. He had the green chili stew and green chili burger. I enjoyed the 3 different types of gazpacho soups, tomato, cucumber and mango. Fresh and delicious. My husbands meal was spot on. Hopefully we will eat there again before leaving.
The atmosphere was very warm and inviting and all employes were very friendly and helpful. Our server was Chris and I would recommend you ask for him should you choose to eat here.
Awesome place to dine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Meh. When they say "NEW" Mexican food, they mean nouveau”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I know, I know - I'm a hard customer because I am a bona fide desert rat, and I run on a hybrid fuel of Dos XX and fire-roasted green chile. So when I saw it was "New" Mexican food, I had my doubts. Suspicions confirmed: weird, styrene-like rellenos, bizarre ground meat tacos with - what is that, curry? Tarragon? Hell, I don't know.

I ordered a side taco with my enchilada, and it was plopped on top of the entree. That equals total soggy taco shell failure. Rookies.

Of course, the enchilada was spectacularly mundane, doubtless watered down to suit the tastes of the delicate tourists, but at least it was shapeless and bland, too.

It wasn't all bad. The salsa was acceptable (needs more garlic, amigos) and the waiter was cheerful. I didn't throw up later, so there's that. But seriously, stop calling it New Mexican food, unless you're only talking about the part of Santa Fe the fey Californians have staked out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy food, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We have lived in Durango for only a few months and just found out abot Gazpacho's, so this was our first visit here. The food was delicious. Our server was Chris and the service he gave was outstanding (great service can be a rare thing these days). We have decided that this is our new favorite Mexican restaurant in Durango!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Great New Mexican food. Really hot flavorful salsa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I had the taco plate. It was very good but beans and rice came on a tiny dish, very under portioned. The taco was ground beef, shell was a little soggy when served but I liked it that way. Always like this place. Margaritas are tasty although not authentic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gazpacho Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gazpacho Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gazpacho Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.