We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Himalayan buffet in downtown Durango!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Himalayan Kitchen

Himalayan Kitchen
992 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5122
970-259-0956
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 162 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Himalayan buffet in downtown Durango!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Wonderful variety of flavorful Himalayan choices in the buffet at Durango's Himalayan Kitchen. All you can eat and then some. Has plenty of vegetarian dishes if that's what you want. The Tandoori chicken is terrific. Recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    54
    13
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Real, Soft Tofu and Fresh Veggies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

As a vegetarian, I usually eat at a Chinese restaurant because I can get dishes with tofu and vegetables, but this time we decided to try Himalayan Kitchen. We shared the Annapurna Tofu and naan bread. The tofu was fresh -not fried- and the vegetables were also fresh and had just enough spice! I appreciate being able to recognize the vegetables that I am eating. The dish contained the right amount of oil and was not deep fried. The naan bread was soft and perfectly done. We look forward to visiting again!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Himalayan Kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Really good buffet and a charming gift shop next door (922 Main Street) Not vegetarian, but just no beef, but there are vegetarian dishes. If one likes more spicy flavors they can provide sauces that have that 5 alarm punch!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Good lunch for reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

While in downtown Durango corner of 10th and main great restaurant with good atmosphere. Had the lunch buffet for 2 Great salad / dessert bar too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Indian lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My sister-in-law is greeted like Norm at Cheers when she walks in, but even if that wasn't the case we would have had a delicious lunch. Our vegetarian daughter was in heaven, and our "just turkey and bread" son was pleased with the chicken. I loved it all, including the fresh fruits and vegetables.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalayan Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.