We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Himalayan for tourists” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Himalayan Kitchen

Himalayan Kitchen
992 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5122
970-259-0956
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 164 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Foco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Himalayan for tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The food is not very flavorful. For being Himalayan food there is hardly any spice in the dishes that I have tried (which have mostly been from their buffet). But the food that I have sampled off of the menu has always been delicious, so just steer clear of the buffet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    57
    13
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Went here after a long day's drive and was so disappointed by there lack of service to seat people and serve food. Hostess and waiter both were worst people, made faces, gave wrong information about food and did not even bother to respond. Food was ok, but service very very poor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lunch buffet a nice way to try a variety”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I went with a party of 6 looking for something different for lunch while visiting Durango. Our party included a vegetarian and a spice-avoider. All of us found something we enjoyed and it was fun trying the different items on the buffet. I'm glad the items were labeled so we knew what we were getting. Nothing was overly spicy so the spice-avoider was happy and the rest of us had a grand time sampling the various dishes. We'd definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

It was our first time to try this ethic food. I had chicken vindaloo and garlic naan. The chicken vindaloo was delicious and the garlic naan was okay. My husband got daal soup and Annapurna beef, the soup was good, but the beef dish was just okay. The portion of the beef was small and greasy. We both liked the complimentary appetizer, it tasted really light and crispy, and the sauce was very tasty. The service was quick and our server was polite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Pennsylvania, Usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a fantastic meal here. My family loves all forms of ethnic cuisine and where we live, there are NO Himalayan restaurants. I had a Yak Curry and it was fantastic. All the food was good and the service was wonderful. A truly memorable meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalayan Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.