We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Himalayan Kitchen

Himalayan Kitchen
992 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5122
970-259-0956
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 160 restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Nice dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had the buffet here for lunch. I thought it was a very good value. The service at the table was excellent. The buffet had several meat and vegetable choices and a good basic salad. The restaurant had a very nice atmosphere. We would definitely come here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    72
    43
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The lunch buffet is limited but has the offerings everyone likes - Tandoori Chicken, Tikki Masala, Chicken Curry, saag. Today the place was packed; there were people who had to wait to get a table - unfortunately, that also meant that sometimes the buffet offerings would go empty before they were replenished. From a taste perspective, it was as good as it has been in the past and continues to be one lunch that's a must during our visit; however, we were a bit disappointed that the food was a bit scarce at times. We will still return :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great spices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We chose Nepalese dishes, and loved the spices! Good service, quiet place, large portions, table cloths, historic building. It felt like a nice dining place, with casually dressed diners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ate here with while out on business. Ordered the Himalayan fried rice. Large portion sized meals and of course the food is very tasty. The waiter was great & very friendly. The only downside is the prices are a bit high. I would eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, WY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“really tough lamb- raw tandoori chicken”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The food was 'ok'. The sauces were acceptable (definitely more Indian than Nepalese) but the lamb was really tough in the masala dish and at least one piece of chicken in the tandoori was raw. They advertised a special Cosmo made with Grey Goose and I watched our waiter (doubled as the bartender) make it with Absolut. When I asked him about it, he just laughed - not sure he understood me very well - and it was mostly cranberry juice anyhow. Overall I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalayan Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.