We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Listen to the locals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Tymer's Cafe

Olde Tymer's Cafe
1000 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5124
970-259-2990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 149 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Listen to the locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We asked for a recommendation from a local artist at the art fair of a good place for lunch. She recommended two favorites -- the first was Old Tymer's. Everything she said about it was true. It was conveniently located on the main street of the historic old town. It was an interesting and cleverly renovated drug store with fountain, bistro tables, regular tables and a pleasant patio. The wait staff were friendly and effecient. The soup, sandwiches, and salads were great. It was a fun place for lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    67
    22
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

The Thursday special was chicken fried steak, roasted potatoes, green beans and a dinner roll. The food was very good and the service was prompt and friendly. Would go again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Burger Night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A great place to visit if you need your burger fix. Monday Nights is where the locals go for great burgers and a cold beer. If you can sit out on the patio in the summer I would do that.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Times at Olde Tymer's Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I went to Durango, CO for a day trip, no particular agenda other than to have a good time. Got into town too late to ride the narrow gauge train, but I did enjoy the train museum. Strolled lazily up one side of Main Street, then down the other, until I found the Olde Tymer's Cafe. Absolutely wonderful place, I would go back "just because." Weather during that day was delightful, so I sat out on the patio, in the dappled shade provided by a few friendly aspen trees, sipping my iced tea and enjoying a delicious taco salad, and communed with Nature. Life was very good that day!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen Park, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“TerryS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Only had appetizer and sandwich but was good. Service was excellent. Plenty of TV's to watch Bears game. Recommend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Tymer's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Olde Tymer's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Tymer's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.