We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great spot for a meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Restaurant

The Palace Restaurant
505 Main Street, Durango, CO 81302
970-247-2018
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 158 restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: The Palace Restaurant features classic American cuisine. Steaks, seafood, pasta, great sauces, homemade breads and desserts. You can elect to dine in our family-friendly Victorian tavern and order from our moderately priced tavern menu or sit in our elegant dining room and order from our fine dining menu. On our summertime patio, both menus are available. Our restaurant is located in a circa-1880 building and is styled with beautiful Victorian furnishings, such as dark woods and Tiffany-style lamps. Our dining room fire place makes for a romantic evening out in the winter and our tavern and patio are "local favorites." From casual to elegant, we provide a very special dining room experience, with great, classic food and a friendly staff. Please join us!
Pflugerville, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a great spot for a meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were between attractions in town and needed to eat and this place really had appeal. It's located right next to the rail station with a patio view of the rail yard. As it was the middle of the day, no trains were going in or out, but I imagine it's pretty cool around dinner time with them all returning from Silverton. The weather was absolutely perfect and we couldn't ask for a better lunch-time setting. I had the chicken curry sandwich and special tomato soup, which was very good. My husband had a fish sandwich which he praised highly as well. Our kids really gobbled their simple pasta dishes also. Our waitress was somewhat marginal and seemed absent most of the time, but she seemed to be the exception rather than the rule.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    68
    59
    27
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Monday night burgers can't be beat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Many restaurants in town discontinue Burger Night during the summer season...but not at the Palace. Always good and always plenty of seating outside to enjoy the beautiful setting and weather - definitely worth your time to investigate or just sample the happy hour!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Outdoor seating a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This restaurant was within walking distance from our hotel. Again, tripadvisor gave it great reviews so we tried it. It was a beautiful evening and we sat outside. Great to see and wave to all the people on the train and great place to people watch.Good prices, very good food. Definitely order from the "tavern menu"...thanks for that tip from other reviews.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Outdoor patio dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Food and service was great. Restaurant was pretty busy as it was a Friday. I would recommend reservations on a Friday in the summer time. Only thing that was a bother is they don't have something to help catch the tree "droppings" that end up in everything. I mean everything from your hair to food, drinks to in your mouth when you spoke. Maybe a green netting could be used during the beginning of summer to stretch over the awning which would eliminate this annoying problem, when the trees bud. Our $300 dinner came with tree droppings in everyone's meal. Nice dinner and location over all. Maybe not the best place for loud children.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location and food overlooking the park at the railroad depot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I love this place... I've eaten at the Palace numerous times and always love the food. As an accomplished cook, I can be critical and I'm always extremely satisfied with the flavors of the dishes here. I have recently become a vegan and the server was extremely helpful in suggesting dishes that would accommodate my diet. The service is always great here. We ate outside over our Memorial Day visit and as the evening cooled down, we went into the library in the lounge to have our coffee and the staff was right there helping us get situated in our new spot to finish our evening. Although there is a nonstop supply of flashy new places in Durango, I always know I can count on a great meal with a great atmosphere at the Palace.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.