We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy busy restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steamworks Brewing Co

Steamworks Brewing Co
801 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5425
+1 970-259-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 162 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Mexican, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Steamworks Brewing Co. Opened its doors in Durango in September 1996. A favorite watering hole for locals and visitors alike, the brewpub has much more to offer than award-winning craft beer. Known as a town meeting place, Steamworks enjoys a bustling, fun environment. Steamworks' culinary program is unmatched in the region in both breadth and quality of offerings. The "gastropub" fare includes regionally-raised meats and sustainable seafood. Healthy salads, delicious pizzas, spicy Southwestern-style dishes, and vegetarian & gluten-free offerings provide something for everyone who's hungry. The Steam Engine Lager is "arguably the best American - Style Amber Lager in the world" as it has garnered four Gold Medals, a Silver and a Bronze Medal at the Great American Beer Festival (GABF) over the years and also has taken a Silver Medal at the World Beer Cup (WBC). Steamworks has won a total of twelve GABF medals, and two WBC medals. The brewpub maintains up to 18 styles of beer on tap.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Busy busy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had about 30 minute wait. Santa Claus showed up and entertained the kids. Food was good atmosphere was fun!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    259
    76
    33
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The atmosphere, the decor and the food was great! The variety was wide but the taste was awesome! We were watching what other people were ordering and everything they brought out looked delicious!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food & Lots of beer choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stopped in for lunch with a party of 15. They had us seated in 20 minutes, without a reservation. Lots of great food choices (the Santa Rita burger was amazing). Generous portions and very reasonable prices. Good selection on the kids menu as well. 14 different beer choices, all brewed in-house. The "Prescribed Burn", a chili infused lager, was amazing. Great atmosphere and service as well (Thanks Caleb!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brews and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have many friends who recommended stopping by Steamworks, not only for the beer but for the food. They have a great selection of craft beers. I tried the beef and lamb gyro and it was wonderful! We were told that the Cajun boil is amazing, but that is served at 4:30PM.

Get there early as this place is always hopping. The first night we stopped in, it was an hour and a half wait and the bar was packed. We went back the next day around 1:30PM and snagged a couple of chairs at the bar. As I mentioned, this place is hopping so it may a few minutes before the bartender serves you, but it is well worth it.

This is now a staple brewery whenever we visit Durango.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
“Friendlist pub in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have lived near Durango for 33 years and until recently never went to bars to eat or drink. Then the micro-brewery and pub trend hit town, and now our single favorite social activity is hanging out at Steamworks. While Durango has several pub-style, family-friendly places and tastes vary, we prefer Steamworks for the quality and selection of their brews, the amazing dedication and friendliness of staff, and location. For lunch, the many-windowed sun room offers the best people-watching location in town. That same room is also very family friendly, with free peanuts and chalk for kids to do their art on the concrete floors. Older people, like us, feel totally comfy there. Singles, couples and other adults with or without kids can also choose to hang in the main bar area, where the atmosphere is pleasingly loud, busy, friendly and ... tons of fun. I hate TVs in bars and try to avoid all such places, but I understand their place as objects that socially awkward patrons can focus on, rather than staring at the bartender or into their beer. At least here the sound is turned completely off. I can't really rave about their food choices--more a matter of limited choices that appeal to me, though their Southwestern burger is, IMHO, the best in town. Big as it is, Steamworks frequently is crowded at night, and at lunch on weekends and during tourist season, so come early.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamworks Brewing Co also viewed

 

Been to Steamworks Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steamworks Brewing Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.