We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ore House

Ore House
147 E College Dr, Durango, CO 81301-5405
970-247-5707
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 157 restaurants in Durango
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Avenue
Transit: Trolley stop located right across the street.
Description: Established in 1972, the Ore House is one of Durango's oldest and finest restaurants. Featuring hand cut USDA certified Black Angus prime and choice steaks, steaks from ranches surrounding southwest Colorado, sustainable seafood, all natural poultry, seasonal local produce, and homemade desserts.
Columbia,IL
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place has been working to please customers for a long time. If you want a fine steak you have come to the right place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    188
    50
    27
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swarthmoor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best meal on the trip - so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stumbled on this place on our one night in Durango, and so glad we did.
The meal was excellent (had the 'Local turf and turf'). Service was first class - thanks Bridget, and to cap it all, it was Sunday night, so there was 50% off bottles of wine.
Can't recommend the place highly enough. Has a great vibe to it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This Place is Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been here a few times, and each has been a great experience. The managers Ryan and Mandy put much care and effort into this place and really make it something special. The food is excellent and fairly priced. We will definitely visit again, and will keep referring this place to everyone we know.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good but nothing special for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

For the price I paid for a bone in New York I expected more. First off u do get a lot of meat since the bone is so small. But the food was just average and the same for my wife's meal. We walked around after dinner and many other restaraunts had such better decor that i should have yried them first Don't get me wrong this is a solid Restaraunt and I would eat there again after I tried a few others first.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Full package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The food was great the service excellent. Everyone working there had a smile.
Throughly enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ore House also viewed

 

Been to Ore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ore House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.