We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, quickly made food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zia Taqueria

Zia Taqueria
400 South Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-6805
(970) 247-1002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 167 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Description: We believe in simple, tasteful, authentic food with an atmosphere and price that feels good, warms the soul, and reminds you that some of the better things in life are quite simple.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good, quickly made food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Just like so many other reviewers have said...it's like Chipotle...with tacos, burritos, and salads. This is a good thing, though! The menu is on the wall so you enter, read the large menu and order at the counter. You will walk through the line as they ask you what specifics you want on your order then pay/take your food at the end. Some of their food is locally sourced and they offer real sugar sodas, margaritas and beer to drink.

My order was just what I wanted but if you are unfamiliar with this place (or Chipotle), take a few minutes to stand back and read the menu board. There are lots of options and it can be a bit much while you are standing in line with lots of people or dealing with your kids to get a decent idea of what is offered.

This place was quite popular and busy while we were in town.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best Fast Casual MX I've had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Tried to go somewhere else downtown, but it was crazy busy and as a lone biz traveler, I just wanted to getterdun. and I am SO glad I ended up here. This is a locally owned non-chain kinda modeled after the homogenized "big players" only with fresh-fresh ingredients. Found Zia across street from hotel after driving around town looking for something that wasn't over stuffed with people and wait times. I had the traditional rice and bean bowl with fresh grilled (in front of me) wahoo. The flavor, the portion, service and value were outstanding! Next time I am in Durango I will definitely return to try something else! You should too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wednesday night Blast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great ceviche tacos! They always have great food, but eh specials are unique and always fresh.
I like the south one the best, mainly because the parking is easier.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

One of the surprises on our trip. The food was excellent, fresh and delicious. Didn't realize until we got back that there were two locations, and the one we didn't go to was right across the street from our hotel

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

For anyone who likes Chipotle or Qdoba you really need to try this place. there are several portion sizes not the standard 13" tortilla only. Each of the meats comes in at least 3 different ways not the usual grilled chicken. You have a choice of 3 types of beans and unlike those other places they serve margaritas too!!! The kids are still talking about their meals here 3 days later....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zia Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Zia Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zia Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.