We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but worth staying here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Durango to your Saves list
Wyndham Durango
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   401 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Fairfield)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rio Rancho
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Small but worth staying here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We just got back from a 4 day stay. The unit is the size of a hotel room with another small room for a bedroom. The hotel room portion of the room has a livingroom, full (small) kitchen and dining table in one room. It also has a sofa bed that would make it hard to get around when opened. It is only a 1 block walk to the Durango/Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. It is also located in an area that makes walking to many of Durango's sights very easy. Plenty of quaint shops and restaurants within 3 blocks of the unit. The unit has a 24 hour laundry and exercise room. They also have 2 jacuzzi's on the roof. The Best Western, which is directly across the street, allows Wyndham guests to use there pool. The units are older and small and I would recommend getting more than one unit if there are more than 2 people, however, it will accommodate 4 people. If you stay at Wyndhams or Worldmarks this resort will be much smaller.

Room Tip: You will want to request an end room because they have a window in the dining area. As far as I kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lamesa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wyndham Durango is a small resort made from an older hotel. Wyndham did a wonderful job in restoring the property and it is very nice. Rooms are rather small but are OK for a shorter stay or if you don't mind being in a smaller, but acceptable, room. Stayed on the 2nd floor and the little seating area there is just great. Nice furniture suited for the area and very roomy. Kitchen has a small apartment size range/oven, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker etc.- it's just small.

The things that make this resort great are its location; within walking distance of old town shops and the train station and the staff. The folks working at the resort are just super. Friendly, accommodating and helpful - they are just great. Compared to most locations in Durango you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Small resort, right in town. Rooms were just right for my husband and I. Staff was extremely friendly and willing to please. Can't beat the town - good food, lots of great shops. Resort is right near the train station/museum, which was interesting. We drove the million dollar highway, which was beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for providing such great feedback and information about the area. We are glad you enjoyed the resort accommodations and staff. We hope you come back to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wyndham Durango is a centrally located resort. You can park for free as a guest. And it is an easy 5 minute walk to the train station - where you can ride the historic Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad- so don't pay the $7 for parking at the Railroad station which is across the RR tracks near McDonalds. It was a nice, clean resort - not a bad room in there. There were a few things not up to snuff, though - a light bulb or two that was out and the broken chain that locked the glass balcony door. Overall a very enjoyable stay. it was close enough to walk to the main downtown restaurant area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Durango, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi Delbe,

Thank you for providing this great feedback including some helpful parking tips for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed the resort location and convenience. We appreciate the information regarding the maintenance issues you encountered in your unit, as we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope you come back to visit for another relaxing vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Rooms are small but very nice. We will consider getting two rooms next time for our family of four. Check in was quick and information given was concise and useful. Loved having two real hot tubs on roof to use. Wish they didn't kick you out of the pool and hot tubs at 9 pm. Nice being able to walk to restaurants, shops, and the train. I gave the sleep quality only an average rating since you are right next to the train depot with all the noises of awaking trains.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice small resort with very Profesional polite young people at service desk
wife and I were created with smells glade to have you enjoy your stay
Can we help you with your luggage
Did not want a tip young man said it was his pleasure to help us
Time share rooms a compact and complet with small balcony
Nice furniture and good bed
Perfect perfect for a 3 or 4 day stay in a very western town
Do not miss the Strater hotel visit and the Dimond Bell Salone
Plenty of restaurants and coffee shops in town to help enjoy this Rocky Mt High

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtland, Ohio
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent 4 nights here in June. The units are very complete, but small compared to other timeshares that we visit. They are well decorated.
This is a very nice small resort.

There is a very small indoor pool at the Best Western across the street. We could not use it since it was taken over by very small misbehaved
children.

The location is great. One can walk to all the main tourist shops and restaurants. The train is about a five minute walk.

Staff was very friendly, and the property is very well ,maintained.

Room Tip: Try to get a unit on the end since noise comes into the rooms easily from the units on each side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Durango

Address: 401 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Fairfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Durango 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.