We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Farm to Table in Durango” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Moro Spirits & Tavern

El Moro Spirits & Tavern
945 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly El Moro Spirits & Tavern, durango, co)
+1 970-259-5555
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Moro Spirits & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 151 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: American, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: El Moro Spirits & Tavern was created in the building that once housed the El Moro Saloon in the early 1900's. The food is modern-rustic: common foods from the early 20th century created with modern culinary techniques. Handcrafted cocktails, an extensive beer list and forty wines, all approachable & affordable, grace our beverage menu.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“New Farm to Table in Durango”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Brought to you by the Steamworks gang, the El Moro is a new restaurant in Durango that is based on Farm to Table - whatever is fresh is what you get! The place is very busy right now and they are definitely working out some kinks, but the food is delicious and wholesome. We've tried both the brunch (oooh - lots of food!) and dinner (twice) and we keep coming back for more. It's an interesting mix of customers ranging from young and trendy to cowboy hats and boots. Prices are in the middle - not bar food but not terribly expensive either. Good wine list and reasonable cocktails. Something that has been missing in Durango.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    33
    9
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Creative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent execution of creative and delicious food. We will go back again for sure. Service friendly and atmosphere fun.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“First time for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have been in El Moro twice prior our visit last night. Before we sat at the bar and had drinks and appetizers. This time we sat at table. The waiter was a little slow in coming to us the first time. This was going to be the pattern throughout the evening. When we finally got our drinks we ordered. We had the Braised short ribs, Wild Salmon, and the Seared Scallops. All three meals were excellent. The meat on the short rib fell off the bone it was so tender. The Salmon was cooked to perfection. And the Scallops had a nice crust sear that made them the best she had ever eaten. The food was delivered by other waitresses. Our waiter never came over to ask how the food was or if we needed anything else. ( we all had wanted a glass of wine.) Oh well. BUT enough about the service. This is a new restaurant, and hopefully they will work out the bugs that all new places have when first opening. They have been open 5 weeks when we ate there..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great addition to Durango!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

El Moro is an outstanding addition to the Durango culinary scene... and that's a tough act to accomplish! After an extensive remodeling job, El Moro is simply stunning. The atmosphere is unlike anything in Durango and the food is both creative and delicious. The dinner menu is wonderful, but I recommend doing something different and trying out the brunch. It is to die for!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Need some service training and work out the kinks...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have tried this restaurant 3 times giving them the benefit of working out the kinks. First time, we were ignored when we arrived. "Shift Change" is what they told us was the issue. It was in the afternoon, the bartender looked the other way, pretended not to see yet was the bartender for the whole time we were there. Had the grilled cheese. Yummy. Next time, in for lunch, food was not so good. Third time, nothing but breakfast served until 2:00pm and NO menu items from 2 to 3. Ordered drinks. With 5 people in the restaurant, it took us over 10 minutes to get two glasses of wine. Nobody really cares. They have an awful squeak in ceiling fans that was the same all three times we were there. Hopefully they get it together but we will not be back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Moro Spirits & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to El Moro Spirits & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Moro Spirits & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.