We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home-away-from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Girard Street, Durango, CO 81303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trimble Spa Package
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Fort Worth, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great home-away-from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The amenities provided by the Homewood Suites located in Durango, Colorado, make it easy to relax as one might at home. In particular, kitchen utensils and full-size refrigerator allow us to eat or snack without having to get out, and having a door between the bedroom and sitting area allows one to get up without bothering spouse.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank You for your comments. We are happy to hear that our accommodations suited your needs. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely

Kurt Berridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    33
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
61
44
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Beds, A+. Food, A-. Staff, A+. Overall experience, A. Value, A. What a great way to spend four days, not worrying in the least about breakfast and dinner. And there were plenty of excellent places to eat lunch nearby. What not worrying about food allowed was time to concentrate on having fun. Downtown, the train museum with a fabulous 1890s St Elmos village carved and painted re-creation, a trip to Silverton, river-rafting, and mountain beauty like Lake Vallecito nearby. Incredible vacation, facilitated by Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We love to hear when we are exceeding expectations. It was a pleasure for our "Family" to take care of your family. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Kurt Berridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

My family of four stayed here for one night as a stopover on a long road trip. I booked this room with Hilton points, and I was a little leery about giving up 60,000 points for one hotel. I went with the fact that during the week, you get a full dinner and cocktails. That made my decision to spend so many of my points for one night. I'm glad we did.
This hotel is in pristine condition. Everything was shiny and new. The staff was welcoming and friendly. Our one-bedroom suite was immaculate and well appointed. There was room for us to spread out and relax. We took advantage of the dinner, and it was worth it. We'd had mexican for lunch and they had a mexican dinner, but they also had salad, so we ate that. There were three wines and two beers on tap. There's also coffee available in the lobby all the time.
The pool and hot tub area was nice. The kids swam while I used the really nice guest laundry across the hall from the pool. Convenient!
There were a lot of options for breakfast. Easy checkout and we were back on the road.
Although we didn't leave the hotel, there was some shopping across the highway and a couple of restaurants. Although it's not within walking distance of downtown Durango, I'd still pick this hotel any day.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt B, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments! We loved to hear from happy families. The staff here truly loves what they do and we hope that it shows. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Kurt Berridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We just got back from a fantastic vacation in Durango, Colorado. It was fantastic because of the wonderful people a the Hilton hotel. Each and every person gave personal service and went above and beyond to make our vacation special. The room was perfect, comfortable and clean. The food was great and plentiful. We highly recommend this hotel in Durango.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We are always pleased when we hear that our guests are happy with what we do. You are the reason we do this. Please come and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Kurt Berridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

If you want genuine and friendly people...go to the Hilton Homewood Suites,Durango, Col. Rooms were SOO clean, the food was great, for breakfast and dinner. It was like being on a cruise ,leaving, doing things all day , and comming back to a warm, clean , friendly-family environment!! Great Coffee also.Brannd new,great pillows and bedding, we could have stayed ALL summer. I travel alot and this trip was special.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We are very glad that we could help make your Summer Vacation a memorable one. We hope that if you are ever in the area again you will come see us.

Sincerely,

Kurt Berridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel is one year old and in excellent condition. No stains or strange smells anywhere in the hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. Everything was as we would expect from a Homewood suite except for a barking dog in a room across the hall. We first noticed what sounded like a small terrier barking around 8:30 pm. At 9:30 we received a call from the front desk indicating they had received a complaint about a barking dog. We assured the front desk that our dog was not barking but we could hear the dog across the hall still barking. At 10:30 pm the dog was still very upset. Early the next morning we received an irate call from a guest in another room demanding we stop our barking dog. He was a very unhappy guest. Later that morning, we talked to the manager and she apologized for the barking and the calls. She had contacted the dog’s owners but they were on the train to Silverton which is normally an all day trip. I asked what the hotel policy was for barking dogs. She stated the hotel hadn’t experienced this problem previously. If it becomes a “problem” the hotel would remove the dog from the room and have it boarded.
This is our first trip with our dog other than one night stays traveling to visit friends. We never leave her alone in the room for more than a couple of hours. She’s always in her crate and almost never barks.
Feeling threatened by a guest in an adjoining room due to this “problem” is not a comfortable feeling.
Very mixed feelings at this stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I take your comments very seriously and will review and revamp our pet policy. Some guest do not register their pets, and that is our problem to solve. It should never be your problem. Our goal is to always exceed expectations and your comments help us to know when we fall short of that goal. We will use these comments to provide a better guest experience to future guests.
Sincerely,

Kurt Berridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, MI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here for a couple nights with my kids (ages 18, 12, 10, and 7). The suite gave us plenty of room to spread out and having the kitchen was great. The entire property was clean, the gathering area was very homey, and there was even a patio and a grill. Breakfast was good enough for everyone to start the day on the right note. If our travels ever take us that way again, we would absolutely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO

Address: 15 Girard Street, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.