We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Durango, CO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Girard Street, Durango, CO 81303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% Off!
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Durango, CO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here for a couple nights with my kids (ages 18, 12, 10, and 7). The suite gave us plenty of room to spread out and having the kitchen was great. The entire property was clean, the gathering area was very homey, and there was even a patio and a grill. Breakfast was good enough for everyone to start the day on the right note. If our travels ever take us that way again, we would absolutely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    50
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
130
71
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
197 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This is a newer property and the rooms are well laid out and clean. Staff is friendly and the breakfast is better than any hotel breakfast I have had in years. The kids enjoyed the pool and I enjoyed the fact there was shopping, restaurants, and a movie theater nearby.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here during our recent vacation to the Durango area. Our suite was very comfortable for the three of us. We used the pool, hot tub, fitness equipment and laundry facility. All were very well kept. The staff was very professional, always cordial and courteous. Parking is not as bad as some other reviews would have you believe. My only negative comment is about the "free" meals. We only ate one, breakfast our first morning. No more after finding several human hairs cooked into the scrambled eggs!!! Other than that, I highly recommend Homewood Suites for your stay in Durango.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I'm used to the saying, "You get what you pay for", and that is certainly true about breakfast at this hotel. The photos in the elevators show fresh strawberries on top of the waffles and a bowl of fresh fruit. Those items are non-existent in the breakfast buffet as is any fresh fruit except for some dilapidated apples and, if you get up early enough, some bananas. We stayed there two nights and on the second morning there was no orange juice and no one offered to go a few blocks to a store to buy some. I will not be staying here again for any price close to the $200/night I paid! And no one offered to give us a discount on the room!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I take your comments very seriously, and will focus on our breakfast experience. Our goal is to always exceed expectations and your comments help us to know when we fall short of that goal. We will use these comments to provide a better guest experience to future guests.
Sincerely,

Kurt Berridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is an extremely nice hotel. Rooms are well laid out and the business desk in each room is nicely done. Oversized walk-in showers are also a nice touch. After spending the nice in a sub-standard Baymont Suites hotel the previous night in Montrose, CO, this Homewood Suites was a welcome change. Complimentary dinner and beer in the lounge area was also welcome as we sat and watched the all star game in very nice surroundings. If there was any complaint, it would be that the water temperature in the shower goes to warm, but not hot. Given the other amenities though, this is definitely our hotel of choice in Durango in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was our first Homewood Suites experience, and we were pleasantly surprised!!! Everything in the place was so clean, especially our room. We couldn't have been happier! While the quality of the food at dinner and breakfast leaves something to be desired, it was awfully convenient to be able to have dinner and breakfast at the hotel. That alone would keep us coming back. The complimentary beer and wine at dinner definitely tastes cheap, but...it's free. More of a selection at both meals would be nice (and beware of the funky egg product at breakfast). The staff were so friendly at every interaction. Food criticisms aside, this is a lovely place to stay and we'd be back in a heartbeat! The "robust" coffee on the coffee bar is especially good, as are their travel cups!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We usually stay at Hilton Hotels and this one is a keeper. The only real problem we had was the room location view was looking directly at the Coke building and the cable TV has trouble at night when the storms come in. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The breakfast and evening dinners were great. Better than the usual fare at some hotels. The staff was very accommodating. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
2.2 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#1 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
2.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango

Address: 15 Girard Street, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.