We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good brew, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Brewing Company

Durango Brewing Company
3000 Main Ave., Durango, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 161 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good brew, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Good beer, with a good selection of their microbrews (7 or 8). Obvious why they have won awards. Food was "brewpub food" (burgers, sandwiches, etc) but a decent selection, including soup and salads. Lots of appetizers to accompany your beer if you don't want a meal. Food was good, home fries exceptional. Service was fast and friendly. It's a pretty casual place - not really a typical restaurant - more like a "hole-in-the-wall." They call it their "tap room." We ate here because we were staying at the hotel next door, otherwise we'd likely not have given it a chance. I'm glad we ate there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Nothing special about this place, honestly. My beer, which I've had before elsewhere and enjoyed well enough, tasted like the tap lines needed washed out. We didn't order food or look at a menu, but every meal we saw come out of the kitchen was fried something in a basket. We did, however, overhear an employee tell another customer that everything was hand made, like the guacamole he was eating. My boyfriend liked his beer OK and the bartender was very friendly and chatted with us a bit. As we were leaving, we noticed some old people setting up instruments...not sure what they play, but I certainly can't imagine I would enjoy listening to an old folks' jam session (I think we dodged a bullet there). Is it sad that the highlight of our time there was the 3-year old kid loudly begging his dad, "Daddy, I wanna go POOP!!" several times?

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Local stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Went here to do some tasting of beers. Looked like the locals came here to eat. The staff were friendly and the food looked good. Beer was definitely worth the stop.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food and Brew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our Widows and Widoers group ran a trip to ride the Durango train. The hotel clerk had reccommended this place, So we went, Wound up eating here two nights and on both occasions the experience was wonderful. The only bad thing was that now that I'm 80 years old, I just don't eat as much as when I played center and linebacker back in the early 50's. Both nights the food was outstanding and the beer and ale were far above the "Lite Beer" water. Somebody here has their act together.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and brew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stopped by for dinner and a beer. The Derail Ale was excellent! Food was pretty good too (burgers). Can't wait to go back

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Durango Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.