We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer is good, food tastes great, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BREW Pub & Kitchen

BREW Pub & Kitchen
117 W. College Dr, Durango, CO 81301
+1 970-259-5959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Bars & Pubs in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Pub, American, Brew Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located directly across the tracks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Rail Road (D&SNGRR) with views of Smelter Mountain, and Hog's Back ridge in the heart of downtown is Durango's newest Brew pub. We focus on the using the best possible ingredients for our beers and our food.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beer is good, food tastes great, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I have been here twice. The waitress remembered us the second time, even when it had been over a month since we had been there. 1st time we were there, it was on my birthday and I got a free beer. Beer was good, but not much selection. 2nd time we were there, we ordered food. We ordered the pork belly and it tasted awesome with a caramel sauce and apples. We split an entree (beer glazed short rib). It tasted amazing, but the portion size was very small.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dunl1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I love going to the different breweries in town for drinks and a snack. We love Brew because their brews are great, their food is exceptional and very reasonable, and most importantly because we feel comfortable taking our daughter there. Every time we go we are very well taken care of by the wonderful people who work there!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank truthbtold89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great beers and a friendly owner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I tried a flight of all there current brews and enjoyed each one. Stopped in the following day to sample a new brew and sat around figuring out a name for a session. Great place did not try the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Brewery Crawl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

My buddies and I went on a brewery crawl of the five Durango Breweries. We started at 11:00 am and ended around 8:00 pm. Enjoyed each brewery and we rated our favorites. Each brewery has knowledgable, and fun staff who put up with a bunch of men out for a good time. The Brew is the newest of the breweries with the owner and brewmaster being a former brewmaster at Carver. This is a family affair with the brewmaster talking beer with his customers and his wife providing cold tastes with knowledgable insight into each beer. We rated this brewery number 1 of all of the breweries. Each beer had a distinctive flavor and was poured into the newer pint glasses that provide a better aroma, color and flavor. The brewmaster/wife team is very proud of providing a unique experience. Their unique menu of appetizers and main courses complement the beers. Besides their excellent crafted beers they also serve a variety of Colorado beers that the owners have tried and recommend. Not a bad beer on the menu and all rate best of Durango rankings. A brewery to be experienced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank boldgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great beer, fun menu, good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a great experience at Brew. We stopped in during the early evening to have a drink on our way to dinner at another restaurant. They had 4 of their own beers on tap, plus guest beers (as well as wine and spirits). We are intermediate beer snobs, and all 4 were very good - great head, flavor, mouthfeel, and each had its own unique profile. Sometimes with smaller breweries we can order several different styles and they all taste relatively similar. Not these - we found all of their beer to be terrific quality. The bartender, Amanda, was outstanding and answered all of our questions about the restaurant and the beer. Our experience was so good we decided to return the next day for lunch. We shared TWO orders of the shishito peppers (they were that good - if you are a fresh green chile freak you must try them), a Cubano sandwich with fries, and a beet salad. So, so delicious and everything was fresh. Brew is a nice break from the usual brewery with typical bar fare -- everything seemed fresher and tastier. Food and beer always tastes better when it is small batch and prepared artfully and with quality ingredients. Amanda and the entire staff are fantastic and seem to like what they do and where they work. Overall, we just found our new favorite place in Durango.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blackandbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BREW Pub & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to BREW Pub & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing