We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varied menu, well-prepared with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ken & Sue's

Ken & Sue's
636 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5438
970 259 2616
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ken & Sue's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 158 restaurants in Durango
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: between 6th & 7th on the East Side of Main
Description: Be Our Guest! Owners Ken & Sue Fusco welcome you to their casual, fine dining restaurant. Enjoy great food and great service, all in a comfortable atmostphere. Their American Bistro menu has something for everyone. We promise you'll feel right at home at our place whether just enjoying a night out on the town or a special occasion.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Varied menu, well-prepared with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The ambience of this restaurant is classy, casual. The staff is wonderful and very accommodating. We ordered entrees of strip steak, gnocchi and filet mignon. Everything was plate pleasing and delicious coupled with a lovely waiter. Place was rocking for a Saturday night but we did not feel rushed or compromised. Lovely overall experience. . .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    491
    136
    57
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Consistently fine food and superb service - #1 for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This restaurant has been our favorite in Durango for lunch and dinner for several years (now tied with Jean Pierre's as #1 for us; please see separate review). Morgan and her outstanding staff consistently provide friendly and professional service, and the food is wonderful. The ginger chicken potstickers are a delicious appetizer to share. My favorite entree is the lobster quesedilla; you'll find it on the appetizer menu and it's enough for a meal for me. My husband usually has the daily special, which is always excellent. If you are a regular, get yourself on their snail mailing list which brings a coupon for a free drink or appetizer or dessert or a 15% discount a couple of times a year -- a real bonus that will bring you back for yet another delightful meal. Enjoy the patio in the summer for fun outdoor dining.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food. Service not the greatest.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We recently went to Ken & Sue's based on TA reviews. We were glad we made reservations even though we were there on a weekday in late October. Since no indoor reservations were available, we accepted the 'outdoor patio' seating. We were seated promptly but found the outdoor heaters were providing too much heat, so much so that 3 of our party of 6 were terribly uncomfortable. We asked to have the heat turned down and our waitress happily complied, but ended up turning the heater completely off. Another (probably more senior) member of the staff re-started the heater and again resulted in our area being extremely warm (we literally had to shield ourselves from the heat with menu's and other objects. My husband had to run next door to purchase a ballcap to keep the heat off his head (too late to keep him from getting a migraine). We asked our waitress to please get someone to turn down the temperature, but she disappeared never to return. My husband also asked another member of the staff, but he never showed up either. I finally got up and tracked down the staff member who had previously re-started the heater and walked with her until she arrived at the table and set the heater to a more comfortable setting.
The waitress was not very well-versed on the menu. One member of our party was a vegetarian and wanted a salad, but requested a dressing that was not a vinaigrette since she preferred something without vinegar. (there are about 4 types of dressings mentioned but every one of them is a vinaigrette) First we were told that there was a creamy parmesan dressing, but later were told that they were out of that. The waitress offered 'oil and vinegar', 'balsamic', and some other sort of vinaigrette, clearly not understanding the 'no vinegar' request.
Once we received our meals, everyone was very satisfied with our food - all presented as ordered and delicious. It's a shame that the service was not up to the level of the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to dine in Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We dined at Ken and Sues the first of October-they had just reopened after making repairs from a previous fire.Luckily we stopped by early and made reservations-when we arrived at our
reserved time we were seated promptly at a table already set for us.The waitress was very
attentive and friendly-she made helpful menu recommendations-we both settled on the Southwestern Cobb salad-very good and most reasonably priced.By 6 oclock the place was packed-and this was on a Wednesday.We noted alot of local townfolk dining here-always a good sign.Overall we were very impressed and this will be our place to dine on the next trip to Durango......

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I enjoy lunch with the girlfriends at Ken & Sue's. The service is always great, the servers are knowledgeable of the menu and this helps so much.

Food, well I have never had anything that is not fantastic but I do think one of my favorite items is the meatloaf with red wine gravy.

If their patio is open in cooler weather they create such a warm atmosphere out there with heated tents. The setting is so romantic and charming and meat a fabulous mean become exceptional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ken & Sue's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ken & Sue's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.