We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful mediterranean food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cyprus Cafe

Cyprus Cafe
725 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301
(970) 385-6884
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 151 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful mediterranean food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This restaurant is off the main drag, but very accessible. We showed up, a group of 3 w/o a reservation, on a Saturday evening. After an examination of their plan, they managed to get us a table inside. Quiet, intimate atmosphere in what is an old converted house. Good wine list. Very knowledgeable waitress, who knew both the menu and the wine cellar. The food was excellent. I had chicken marsala, an old favorite, done extremely well here. One of our group had the elk medallions, and seemed to enjoy his meal. My wife had one of the specials. Can't remember what it was, but she was raving about the food - this after having dined at Seasons a few nights before. For once we saved room for dessert -baklava and the baked fruit pie with chantilly cream. And the best coffee we had in Durango.

We had a delightful dinner on a drop-in. The regular reservations got their tables on time. Wonderful atmosphere, great food, and really good table management. Gotta love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    71
    25
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
136 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“mild concerns”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had an ok meal here one evening of our month long stay. I phoned them for a reservation for an outdoor table a few nights later and was told "we don't accept reservations for outdoors-but we can put you down indoors so at least you have something". What a lack of customer focus.

Needless to say, we never went back!

After all, it is mid summer in Durango with fabulous evening weather and we wanted to dine outdoors. The other similarly priced restaurants in town with outdoor seating had no problem taking a reservation. We preferred Ken and Sue's over this place. I'd run to Ken and Sue's and skip Cyprus Cafe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
93 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“TWO NIGHTS OF FINE MEALS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Because of our late arrival the first night we walked around town and LUCKILY stumbled across the Cyprus Cafe. The first night we set inside as the outside weather was iffy and we were happy to sit anywhere. We started with the Combo Meze, a great dish of Greek specialities, followed by 2 house salads. I had the Grilled Greek Plate which was very good save the lamb skewer lamb being a bit overdone. My wife had the duck breast and it was great, I had it the second night. Cooked just right and comes with these wonderful scallion fritters. The second night, on a covered patio, we started with Pan Seared Calamari, not breaded and extremely tasty. My wife had the salmon salad as an entree, which she really enjoyed. The bread was very good and the wine list was above average considering Utah laws. Dessert both nights was fine, only complaints were overdone lamb and the salads dressing was a bit tary, especial for wine. The second night, a university professor was playing classical guitar and that was enjoyable. The service both nights was very good and the hostess was great. We hope to come back. Ken and Sue's was closed due to smoke damage but we were extremely happy to hace found Cyprus

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh Local beautiful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and daughter have eaten at about 20 restaurants in Durango, including the top-ranked ones, this is our new favorite. We ordered the calamarie and a house salad: calamarie is hard to get right, this one was delicious. I like that it wasn't breaded, frozen, heavy. For entrees we had the cobia, elk and tenderloin and loved each one. Generous servings, on time, hot and delicious. Elk covered in small dark carmalized onions, idk, but even our teenager loved it. Waitress attentive, had the two chocolate deserts with the tart being our fav. We'll be back for the food and the very talented musician, Chad MacCluskey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
Level Contributor
137 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pretty neat and it only got neater!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We originally stopped at the wine bar (Eno's) for a glass of wine, and were intrigued by the jazz combo next door at the Cyprus. We asked the waitress about the food, and learned the two places are owned by the same person--who, at the time, was singing with the jazz group. A table on the plaza opened, and we decided to stay.
We had the nightly special which was a sausage papperdelle, along with salads. The entrée was outstanding and the spinach salad was more than quality--and quantity! This place would make it in most cities--especially when you throw in the ambiance of outdoor dining and the music.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cyprus Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cyprus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyprus Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.