We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food (but order takeout!!!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rice Monkeys

Rice Monkeys
1050 Main Avenue, Durango, CO
9704033852
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 151 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Description: Fusion Asian Bistro w/ sushi & many different varieties of rice bowls and noodle bowls
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food (but order takeout!!!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This restaurant barely has very few spots to sit down. The food is awesome so I would recommend just getting takeout and taking it down to the river for a picnic.
Great vegetarian options.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    22
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“I Left Hungry!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

I went in and there was two seats left in this tiny cramped space with uncomfortable seating the waitress came and got my drink order and menu and then you had to get up and go to the counter to order and pay
My tea came I ordered green tea 3.00 , then came my soup 3.50 and steamed rice 2.00 then I waited for my sushi and my rice got cold while I was eating my soup my sushi finally came no wasabi cause they put a few small dots of a spicy sauce on it so I sent the rice back for hot rice and asked for more hot water for my tea ! I ordered a certain kind of tuna and I got a lesser grade, huuuum all I can say is I left hungry and was not impressed and will not recommend or be back I spent 24.00 on a sub parr lunch !+ a tip yes I tipped!


Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Surprising Hole in the Wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Small place with limited seating but excellent noodle and rice bowls. Loved the sesame beef and the vegetarian summer rolls.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small space but big flavor and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We chose not to at here the first time we walked by due to the small space and the atmosphere wasn't ;interesting'. That was our mistake as we (my boyfriend and I) both felt this was the best sushi restaurant in Durango. The food was reasonably priced, the amount of food was proper for the price and the food tasted good. When you are on vacation, sometimes things aren't always going to line up such as the look of the restaurant (being a store front versus a big sit down fancy) or the menus (a small two-sided plastic menu versus a big colorful 5 page extensive menu). Let go of expectations and go with your gut. The food was tasty although we only had a single roll each. It was fresh, 10 pieces a roll and those around us seemed happy as well. There was a wait outside for the tables which to be honest, there weren't many but it was also closing time and they were still busy. I would definitely recommend.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Asian in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This place has a little bit of everything. It has great sushi and supper noodle bowls. It is a fun place with lots of people watching.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice Monkeys also viewed

 

Been to Rice Monkeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rice Monkeys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.