We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended By A Local” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rice Monkeys

Rice Monkeys
1050 Main Avenue, Durango, CO
9704033852
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 160 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
Description: Fusion Asian Bistro w/ sushi & many different varieties of rice bowls and noodle bowls
tucson, az
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended By A Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

On the recommendation of a chef friend who lives in town, we had lunch at Rice Monkeys, uber cute SMALL place. Now the only reason that she suggested this place for us at all is that we’re from Hawaii and this is the stuff we like to eat.
We started with the regular (not the spicy) Edamame to snack on while we awaited the main attraction.
Sautéed Sesame Beef and Chicken Teriyaki rice bowls, very ONO (that’s delicious in Hawaiian).
I couldn’t get a snapshot of the chicken bowl because by the time I got my camera out, DH had eaten it ALL!! And THEN started on my Beef too! (check out their menu online, they offer noodle bowls and sushi too)
We were in town to visit with my chef friend and we do so every so often; I promise you we’ll eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Skip the old-line joints. Rice Monkeys' FTW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a very small sushi/fusion joint with cramped seating and a noisy, tokyo-like ambiance.

The fried egg rolls with sweet chili sauce were excellent, as was the beef pho, and dragon roll on my last outing. Every meal I've had there has been fantastic, and the waitstaff are very friendly and accommodating.

Just show up a couple minutes before they open, this place fills to the brim in about 5 minutes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Score of a find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Sushi and Pho~such a great combo. All the food was fresh, service was friendly and prompt. A welcome end to a long day of adventure :-)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have had nothing but great food at Rice Monkeys. One of my best meals was ordering a seaweed salad, the sweet potato shrimp crunch(a MUST have) and a salmon roll. Their soups are truly amazing! I've had a few of their sushi rolls and all have been really good. The only drawback is the small size, but I've always had fast and friendly service. Delicious! Don't miss out! If you like good, traditional sushi and some interesting dishes with some kick, check them out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Food Every Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Rice Monkeys provides excellent, consistent high quality food, with creative specials that are a new delight each week. Unlike other reviewers from out of town who seek quantity, we relish and appreciate the emphasis on quality ingredients Rice Monkeys provides. If you want fresh, inventive, appetizing food prepared with care, this is the place. Some of our favorites include the Hamachi Love roll, Ceviche, Saigon Bowl, Spring Rolls, Lemongrass Beef and Chirashi. It's all good and we love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice Monkeys also viewed

 

Been to Rice Monkeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rice Monkeys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.