We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum

Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum
151 E. 16th St, Durango, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 19 Attractions in Durango
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Owasso, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice little museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Had a great time visiting and walking the grounds. There was a great trail to walk around the museum. Lots of places to get great pics.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taylor, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's Free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nice stop to see how trout and other fish grown in the pools at the hatchery. The museum is quite nice (but small) and has a great display of animals from the area. We combined our trip with a ride on our bikes around the nearby trail system.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Here fishy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great place to visit to see how fish are raised for release into the wild rivers and lakes of southwestern Colorado. The museum is small but worth the time to visit. The staff is very friendly and loves to answer your questions.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorful Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Feed the Fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our Grandkids loved walking around and learning about the fish at this hatchery, and of course, feeding them too! We were told about the Hatchery at the Visitors Center, otherwise we had no idea this was even available to visit. Thanks to the members of the Visitors Center for all their recommendations on places to go with small children when visiting Durango while we were waiting for the evening train ride!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good, Free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My family enjoyed this more than I thought they would. My teenagers loved feeding the fish. Good place to kill an hour or so. You can spend some money on fish food, but other than that, this is free. The museum is interesting, but my kids and I don't love stuffed animals (of the formerly living variety), so we didn't stay in the museum long. This is right by the river and the walking/biking trail.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum also viewed

 

Been to Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.