We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Free!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum

Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum
151 E. 16th St, Durango, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 19 Attractions in Durango
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Taylor, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's Free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nice stop to see how trout and other fish grown in the pools at the hatchery. The museum is quite nice (but small) and has a great display of animals from the area. We combined our trip with a ride on our bikes around the nearby trail system.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Here fishy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great place to visit to see how fish are raised for release into the wild rivers and lakes of southwestern Colorado. The museum is small but worth the time to visit. The staff is very friendly and loves to answer your questions.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorful Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Feed the Fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our Grandkids loved walking around and learning about the fish at this hatchery, and of course, feeding them too! We were told about the Hatchery at the Visitors Center, otherwise we had no idea this was even available to visit. Thanks to the members of the Visitors Center for all their recommendations on places to go with small children when visiting Durango while we were waiting for the evening train ride!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good, Free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My family enjoyed this more than I thought they would. My teenagers loved feeding the fish. Good place to kill an hour or so. You can spend some money on fish food, but other than that, this is free. The museum is interesting, but my kids and I don't love stuffed animals (of the formerly living variety), so we didn't stay in the museum long. This is right by the river and the walking/biking trail.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A fun stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a self-guided tour, and includes several fish hatchery 'runs' of various sizes. One side run had very large fish, up to around 24 inches. We had lots of fun throwing fish food into the runs and watching the fish feeding frenzy. For only a quarter, a handful of fish food never provided so much enjoyment - for us and the fish!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum also viewed

 

Been to Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.