We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Free!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum

Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum
151 E. 16th St, Durango, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 58 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Taylor, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's Free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nice stop to see how trout and other fish grown in the pools at the hatchery. The museum is quite nice (but small) and has a great display of animals from the area. We combined our trip with a ride on our bikes around the nearby trail system.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Here fishy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great place to visit to see how fish are raised for release into the wild rivers and lakes of southwestern Colorado. The museum is small but worth the time to visit. The staff is very friendly and loves to answer your questions.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorful Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
161 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Feed the Fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our Grandkids loved walking around and learning about the fish at this hatchery, and of course, feeding them too! We were told about the Hatchery at the Visitors Center, otherwise we had no idea this was even available to visit. Thanks to the members of the Visitors Center for all their recommendations on places to go with small children when visiting Durango while we were waiting for the evening train ride!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good, Free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My family enjoyed this more than I thought they would. My teenagers loved feeding the fish. Good place to kill an hour or so. You can spend some money on fish food, but other than that, this is free. The museum is interesting, but my kids and I don't love stuffed animals (of the formerly living variety), so we didn't stay in the museum long. This is right by the river and the walking/biking trail.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A fun stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a self-guided tour, and includes several fish hatchery 'runs' of various sizes. One side run had very large fish, up to around 24 inches. We had lots of fun throwing fish food into the runs and watching the fish feeding frenzy. For only a quarter, a handful of fish food never provided so much enjoyment - for us and the fish!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum also viewed

 

Been to Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.