We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for young children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum

Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum
151 E. 16th St, Durango, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 55 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun for young children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My daughters who are now in their 30's have always remembered this little fish hatchery located just north of downtown Durango. For a quarter you can feed the fish and see them swarm. We make it a point to bring anyone who is traveling with us and has not been to the hatchery to visit. It is a very pretty location right by the Animas River

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heath, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Growing fish near a beautiful river”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The wildlife museum was closed so we walked through the fish hatchery. It was not guided and only had a few signs of explanation so not a big deal to see. Although it was a beautiful day and it is next to the Animas river and bridge with a walking trail so we really enjoyed our time there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Looked like fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Just be aware that the fish hatchery is only open to the public from May 15 to September 15. Alas, we were here on Sept 16th.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best quarter I ever spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a great little stop off . It is free to walk in. For a quarter you can feed the fish, which is fun to watch them flock.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Took our seven year old grandson. We all had a great time. The facility is totally run on donations and by volunteers.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum also viewed

 

Been to Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.