We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Dinner!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations

Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations
48475 Highway 550, Durango, CO 81301-8767
970-247-3527
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 158 restaurants in Durango
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Located inside the Silver Pick Lodge
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Dinner!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I took my two adult children when we were in CO for spring break. Both the meal and the service were excellent! Our favorites..... The elk tenderloin and the cheese fondue with dried spinach and artichokes. Would love to go back sometime.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    52
    12
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Excellent meal in mid-Feb. Delicious spinach salad, crab cakes, and small plate entrees of quail and bass. Very flavorful. Service slow despite few patrons. Returned 2 wks later and food was so-so. Duck egg rolls yummy but hamburger dry and blah, Small plate salmon absolutely NO flavor, steak with blueberry sauce just ok. Yes, views of Needles mountains are lovely but disappointing food will take us elsewhere in future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We dined here on our last night of a ski vacation. Very good, pleasant service. Helpful wine choice. Duck was delicious as were the appetizers. Steak was good, not great. They seated us in the bar area despite the fact that tables in the nicer main dining room were empty saying that was the only spot. It appeared to be geared on the wait staffing. For the price, they could staff the nicer setting. Despite the minor annoyance, I'd recommend it and go again. I'd rate it higher on all counts otherwise.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This would be good food anywhere - not just at the mountain. Our food was prepared just as we had ordered and they had a good wine list. Our server was young but did very good job - he even reseated us away from a loud small child. The parking lot can be tricky when there is a big snow. We will return.
We stayed at the Angelhaus Condos and did not like it - old dated everything.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We hadn't been here in a long time, but it was time to try it again. Boy, were we glad we did! We both ordered steaks and they were cooked to order! My filet was tender enough to be cut with a butter knife! Everything from the bread to the salad to the dessert was wonderful! We will visit Sow's Ear again the next time we are in Durango!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations also viewed

Been to Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.