We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun country evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar D Chuckwagon Suppers

Bar D Chuckwagon Suppers
8080 County Road 250, Durango, CO 81301-8627
970-247-5753
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 177 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Description: Famous Old West Music and Comedy Stage Show. This is not a restaurant or barbecue. The ticket price for the show includes a chuckwagon supper and an evening’s entertainment for the entire family. Serving sliced roast beef or chicken breast simmered in their famous barbecue sauce or an optional flame grilled ribeye steak with all the trimmings. Shows nightly Memorial Day Weekend thru Labor Day. Reservations required.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A fun country evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Good food, great setting, entertainment was very good, 4 guys playing guitar, bass, and fiddle. Good family place. Shops, a little backyard railroad for rides for kiddies.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarbDenver_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Dallas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food and good show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went here for first time in July with 2 adults and 3 kids 10-15. The place is easy to find and set at the base of a mountain. There are quaint shops and we went to the cowboy poetry in the chapel which was good. The food is served cafeteria style and everyone sits at assigned picnic tables. the food is good, but you have to realize what it is, a cowboy dinner (lemonade in a metal cup). The show is 4 guys playing instruments and signing fun and patriotic songs. I think you have to call ahead to make reservation. Overall good experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great show and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have been enjoying the music and FUN of Bar D Chuckwagon for several years and on occasion twice per year. The food is very good, what you could expect if you were on a cattle drive around the old chuckwagon years ago. The singers and musicians, not only some of the finest people we have ever met, but also the most talented.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Iven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

You have to check in 2 hours before the show which I'm sure is designed so you have more time to shop in the stores. However, the prices in the shops are not too bad. The food was just average and it does move fast. Soon as we got through the line we were told where to take our empty plates. The singers are really good, but some of the "funny" songs came across as a little offensive. Overall it was OK, but I don't have to do it again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bellew_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Nice, clean, but the show was not kid friendly and applies to an older generation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a good time, but we made sure to get about 30 minutes before the dinner. There is no need to get there early. The food was Ok... But we all felt that the show should have started during dinner. The show was not really kid friendly. It was was more for an older generation. We had 3 kids under 10 and they were all really wiggly during the show.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jsb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar D Chuckwagon Suppers also viewed

 

Been to Bar D Chuckwagon Suppers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing