We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new property, unpolished untrained staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21636 Highway 160 West, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Farmington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice new property, unpolished untrained staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a brand new property so, the accommodations and decor are top notch. Great bed, spacious rooms, but no views (we were in the back) and a really hard property to locate unless you are familiar to its location. This property is almost a hybrid between a traditional Holiday Inn and a Holiday Inn express. Complimentary breakfast like most full service HI is not provided.

I am a IHG platinum member and did not receive the customary greeting or offer of bottled water or points for the room upon check in. I actually seemed like I was a distraction to the front desk CR and her way too important conversation with the shuttle driver. When asked about bottled water the Cr responded " yeah we have water they're a buck" I didn't mind the charge, but the attitude was unbecoming of a hospitality "professional". The Manager on duty was even less gratuitous and seemed irritated to be both a hotel manager and the defacto bar tender for the two local drunks at the bar.

The morning crew was way more enthusiastic and delightful to talk to. Both young women showed the great potential this staff has.

The property does offer dining in their Sporting News sports bar, but we found the restaurant to be underwhelming with no sense of management. We actually got to sit and watch either the hotel or restaurant managers eat their breakfast right in the dining room in front of their quests. While most of us guests were neglected because the waitstaff was too busy kissing the managers you know what! A awkward and unprofessional behavior in my opinion. The food itself was below average. For breakfast choose an in town option and don't bother with the Sporting News you'll be happy you did.

This is a great property and the room rate is as such of a even greater property, however the management seems lack luster and the PM CR's need basic hospitality 101. Platinum members should be given at least a kind Thank You.

Room Tip: The King suites are awesome! Mom and Dad will love the privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamnchav, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
3pin,
Thank you for taking the time to review us! I appreciate the positive feedback on the room and morning and staff! Your honesty about the rest of your stay is greatly appreciated as well and will absolutely be used toward more efficient training! I apologize for the inconvenience. On behalf of our hotel I'd like to thank you very much for your IHG Platinum status. Please e-mail me directly and I will make sure you receive your bonus points you should have been offered at check in. Thanks again!
gsm.drodc_hi@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
20
32
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Painesville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is very nice and our room was clean. We found everyone to be friendly and helpful at this hotel. We had forgotten something at home and had it shipped to hotel. The staff kept it behind front desk for us and we picked it up with no issues. As a platinum member they also upgraded us to a king suite which was very nice and large. We did not eat at the restaurant on the property. Sporting News Grill seemed to get bad reviews here on Trip Advisor so we did not try it. We noticed that the restaurant was always empty. Not sure how long they will stay in business. I was very surprised that the front desk never tried to build up the restaurant. I was also surprised there were no discounts in the restaurant for hotel guests.
I do recommend this hotel, it is a very nice property.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamnchav, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Lennie W
I'm so glad you had such a great experience! We value all of our guests and were happy to upgrade you for your platinum status! We hope you'll continue your loyalty to IHG and hope to see you here again soon! Also, we'd love for you to try The Sporting News Grill on your next visit, you'll be pleasantly surprised!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very nice hotel.. Staff helpful and friendly.. Rooms very nice. Make sure if you stay here you ask to have a balcony the view is beautiful.. Did not eat at the sports bar.. We decided to go down to Main Street to eat.. Ate dinner at Ken and Sue's good prices and great food..

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamnchav, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed at this Holiday Inn for three days in August and had a very nice expirence. The staff was very attentive and the hotel is kept up properly. From check in to check out everything went just fine.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers are quieter in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamnchav, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Went fishing in Durango and stayed here. The hotel is very nice though somewhat pricy, though they all are in Durango in the summer. Ask for an upgrade to a corner room with a fireplace. Lots of room and the fire is nice in the winter.
The warning is about the restaurant, and the warning is... Don't Eat There!
The food is terrible, the service unspeakable and it is way overpriced.
There are some great restaurants in Durango like M and J's, and even the Durango Diner for breakfast, so get in your car and find one. If you're lazy like we were, you'll regret it. We did.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This Holiday Inn is better than most I've stayed at - new, modern, very nice, with good staff. When I checked in, I asked to for a room with a balcony and got it, which I was very happy about because the views from the balcony were pretty nice and I got a chance to spend some time out there relaxing. The prices here during high season are high, however they are very similar to other comparable hotels in Durango BUT they are much farther from Durango center. I stayed here on points and got great value and will stay here again. I was able to walk to town, which you can only do from a handful other (more expensive) hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stop here in Durango overnight on our way home. Must say this is a very clean hotel and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. It has a sports bar and grill on the bottom level. Its close by the historic downtown. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Address: 21636 Highway 160 West, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2013 Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.