We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Durango!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21636 Highway 160 West, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Durango
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“One of the best in Durango!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This Holiday Inn is better than most I've stayed at - new, modern, very nice, with good staff. When I checked in, I asked to for a room with a balcony and got it, which I was very happy about because the views from the balcony were pretty nice and I got a chance to spend some time out there relaxing. The prices here during high season are high, however they are very similar to other comparable hotels in Durango BUT they are much farther from Durango center. I stayed here on points and got great value and will stay here again. I was able to walk to town, which you can only do from a handful other (more expensive) hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    25
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
25
40
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stop here in Durango overnight on our way home. Must say this is a very clean hotel and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. It has a sports bar and grill on the bottom level. Its close by the historic downtown. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stopped in Durango for 2 nights on a road trip and as always with holiday inn the hotel was in pristine condition and very well kept. This is a beautiful brand new or nearly new hotel with many amazing amenities such as it's pool and sports bar. Main Street was only a 5 minute walk from the property. The only downfall was the view from the back of the building where our room was. It was nothing but a wall of dirt. Overall great stay great service and nice hotel. I would highly recommend this.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the front of the building if a view matters to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I liked the fact the Holiday Inn in Durango was new, clean, a great place to eat, and very helpful. Front Desk Clerks are friendly and the night auditor Elandra was very friendly and helpful. If your staying in Durango I would recommend the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We went to Durango for the fourth of July which I would highly recommend what a great time downtown for all! We stayed one night at the Holiday Inn and while it was OK since it was free on our points it was not great. First off when we checked in usually since we are platinum members we get a gift at other Holiday Inns but not this one they did not even mention it. They were friendly but seemed very distracted. The room was a king suite and it had a fake fire place that was cool looking but since it was in the 90s we just turned on the light to see it but did not run the heater. There was some mud on the kitchenette floor so that made you think they had not vacuumed from the last customer. The beds were comfortable the pillows were a little flat and we had a room on the 4th floor all the way to the end so it was quiet. The bath vanity was very small but the shower was nice and big no tub. Also a plus is that they have the magnifying mirror for us old ladies that is always a good thing. It think the room rate for the night would have been $259.00 and I have stayed in a lot nicer places for that amount. It is not far from downtown which is a plus if that is your destination. Again when we left they just took our key did not ask if we had a good stay again just seemed distracted and not interested. When we go back to Durango we will look at staying elsewhere if we don't have points to do it for free or almost free.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear chele263,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent one night here on an eight-day Colorado National Parks/Monuments trip. Check-in was smooth and we were given a lovely room with balcony overlooking the mountains. Then we joined a wine tasting offered by a knowledgeable lady who told us about local wines and culture. Front desk staff told us how to get to local places and made suggestions for dinner and entertainment. All-in-all it was a great stay in a fun town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

this is a subpar HOLIDAY INN/ I've stayed at a few much nicer for far less. The bath towels are WALMART specials ,T.P. is from a dollar store.Being a tourist town this hotel caters to ONE time stays SO don't expect much.STAYED at ECONO LODGE last year when here and better value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear dave95212,

Thank you for leaving us feedback on your recent stay. It is regrettable to read that our amenities fell below your expectations. We provide service rates that are competitive in the area while simultaneously ensuring that our facilities are well maintained. As hospitality professionals, it is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

We appreciate your feedback as this gives us the opportunity to improve on our guest satisfaction. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Address: 21636 Highway 160 West, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2013 Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.