We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21636 Highway 160 West, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Durango
Round rock
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have stayed here numerous times and will be there again next month for a week. The front desk staff is extremely nice and friendly. We had one issue with the timer in the bathroom used for heat but all we had to do was let housekeeping know and when we came back to our suite several hours later all was fixed. The cont. breakfast is very good and the attendant there very friendly. We have used the laundry and had no problems. We like the suites because our little furry friend travels with us and we can walk her out the back door. All in all I have no complaints about this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
23
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moab, UTah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed at this place for Snowdown. The hotel is very nice, but the room was quite dirty. We took our things inside and put them on the bed and then went out. We got back at midnight and found that there was hair in the sink, dirt and grime around the toilet, crumbs on the floor and hair in our bed. With it being midnight, we figured that it would be futile to go down and complain (especially since Snowdown had the building filled to capacity). Oh, when I say crumbs on the floor...I mean crumbs, pieces of wadded up paper, rocks, and a dead fly. I would have left a complaint as we left, but there were no forms and the front desk worker said that we could do it online.

I enjoyed the front desk staff. They were nice and informative.

With that being said, the place was beautiful and really new. I hated the Sporting News Grill though, and will be writing a review about it. Avoid that bar as much as possible, unless you like being considered an inconvenience to the waitress and bartender.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room, they are all brand new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest, we apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with your room. We hold ourselves to a very high regard when it comes to cleanliness of not just our rooms but for our common areas as well. We never want our guest to feel as if they are not in their homes when it come to comfort we want our rooms to be you home away from home. We wish you would have given us the opportunity to fix the issue while you were here with us. We can assure you that this is not a reoccurring problem with our past, current and future guest. We will discuss this issue with our staff to ensure that none o our current or future guest befall the same experience that you have. We whole heartedly apologize again and during your next trip to Durango your trip with us will have all of the accommodations that you expect.

In terms of your experience in our restaurant we again pride ourselves on customer service for not just our hotel guest but also our restaurant guest. We will speak to the staff and address your concerns and issues. As it is never acceptable for our guest to feel unappreciated during their patronage at our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Great front desk staff who took the time to call me when my room was ready since I arrived early! Bed is firm and comfortable. Room was very large. Good coffee in lobby and in room. ...The view from the room was great. Extra Large shower.

I really don't have any negative comments about this hotel at all...! The only suggestion is since this is a ski area facility they might should have put dressers with more drawers to hold a bunch of bulky ski clothes.

You won't regret staying here!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest,

We at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango thank you for your comments. We are pleased that your stay was pleasant and your experience was a great one. It is our sole responsibility to ensure that our all of our guest have the best experience possible during their stays with us. We apologize that the dresser drawer space was not as adequate as you would have liked. During your next stay ask our front desk agents about our spacious luggage room. We allow for guest to use this area for their ski equipment and it is in a secure area o the facility in which only management or hotel staff have access to. The Holiday Inn & Suites thanks you for your patronage and look forward to accommodating your in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We traveled to Durango the snowy weekend of Dec 7th and thanks to Holiday Inn in Durango our trip was amazing. The hotel was BRAND new, super clean, great lobby, friendly staff, beautiful rooms, and yummy food and drink.
Our trip to Durango was for the Polar Express...we traveled with our friends and we all stayed at the Holiday Inn. The train ride was magical and our hotel stay was beautiful with the snowy veiws and awesome service.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony and remember to use your room key to turn on the room lights...just an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

The Polar Express is an event and experience in and of itself. We here at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango are pleased that you experience was also manifested in your recent stay with us. We take great pleasure and pride in creating an environment of enthusiasm, exceptional customer service and guest satisfaction. We are pleased to know that we are living up to that pledge. Again we thank you for your comments and your patronage and we look forward to accommodating you during your next visit to the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed a night here to ride the Durango Polar Express train. We requested and received two adjoining rooms which worked out really well for having our son and family with us. The staff was super friendly and helpful. They provided a shuttle service to the train.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We here at the Holiday Inn & Suites off Durango are thrilled that we delivered to you exactly what we pride ourselves on during your recent stay wit us. We are pleased we were able to cater to your needs with the various hotel accommodations that we extend to all of our guest during their stay with us. We thank you for your comments and your patronage and look forward to becoming your hotel family during your future stays in the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nicest hotel I have stayed at in Durango. New hotel, clean and well appointed rooms. Sporting News Grill, food and service was exceptional. Also it was a short walking distance from the hotel to the downtown shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
As always we appreciate the feedback that we recieve from all of our guest. We are pleased that you found our hotel to be exceptional in terms of service and that our found our location and amenities fit your needs. At the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango we take great pride in providing our guest with excellent customer service as a staff and management team. we as a staff thank you for your patronage and we hope that you have found a new hotel family whenever you travel to the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here two nights on either end of a day of skiing at Durango Mountain Resort. It is not really walking distance to any of the downtown Durango attractions, but we were visiting in the winter anyways so that was OK. The staff was nice, the hotel appears new and modern, and the pool and hot tub were great. Rooms were large, clean, and simple. $94 per night AAA rate. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We here at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango are pleased to know that you were as pleased with your stay as we are with having had the pleasure to accommodate you. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with all of or guest. We're sorry that you did not find our location to be adequate in proximity to historical downtown Durango. During your next visit please feel free to inquire about our complimentary shuttle service. Its a quick and easy way to get you to all of the downtown attractions that our guest love. We thank you again for your feedback and your patronage and look forward to being your future hotel family when you travel to the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Address: 21636 Highway 160 West, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2013 Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.