We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great front desk staff, but dirty rooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21636 Highway 160 West, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Moab, UTah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great front desk staff, but dirty rooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed at this place for Snowdown. The hotel is very nice, but the room was quite dirty. We took our things inside and put them on the bed and then went out. We got back at midnight and found that there was hair in the sink, dirt and grime around the toilet, crumbs on the floor and hair in our bed. With it being midnight, we figured that it would be futile to go down and complain (especially since Snowdown had the building filled to capacity). Oh, when I say crumbs on the floor...I mean crumbs, pieces of wadded up paper, rocks, and a dead fly. I would have left a complaint as we left, but there were no forms and the front desk worker said that we could do it online.

I enjoyed the front desk staff. They were nice and informative.

With that being said, the place was beautiful and really new. I hated the Sporting News Grill though, and will be writing a review about it. Avoid that bar as much as possible, unless you like being considered an inconvenience to the waitress and bartender.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room, they are all brand new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest, we apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with your room. We hold ourselves to a very high regard when it comes to cleanliness of not just our rooms but for our common areas as well. We never want our guest to feel as if they are not in their homes when it come to comfort we want our rooms to be you home away from home. We wish you would have given us the opportunity to fix the issue while you were here with us. We can assure you that this is not a reoccurring problem with our past, current and future guest. We will discuss this issue with our staff to ensure that none o our current or future guest befall the same experience that you have. We whole heartedly apologize again and during your next trip to Durango your trip with us will have all of the accommodations that you expect.

In terms of your experience in our restaurant we again pride ourselves on customer service for not just our hotel guest but also our restaurant guest. We will speak to the staff and address your concerns and issues. As it is never acceptable for our guest to feel unappreciated during their patronage at our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    25
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
25
40
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Great front desk staff who took the time to call me when my room was ready since I arrived early! Bed is firm and comfortable. Room was very large. Good coffee in lobby and in room. ...The view from the room was great. Extra Large shower.

I really don't have any negative comments about this hotel at all...! The only suggestion is since this is a ski area facility they might should have put dressers with more drawers to hold a bunch of bulky ski clothes.

You won't regret staying here!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest,

We at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango thank you for your comments. We are pleased that your stay was pleasant and your experience was a great one. It is our sole responsibility to ensure that our all of our guest have the best experience possible during their stays with us. We apologize that the dresser drawer space was not as adequate as you would have liked. During your next stay ask our front desk agents about our spacious luggage room. We allow for guest to use this area for their ski equipment and it is in a secure area o the facility in which only management or hotel staff have access to. The Holiday Inn & Suites thanks you for your patronage and look forward to accommodating your in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We traveled to Durango the snowy weekend of Dec 7th and thanks to Holiday Inn in Durango our trip was amazing. The hotel was BRAND new, super clean, great lobby, friendly staff, beautiful rooms, and yummy food and drink.
Our trip to Durango was for the Polar Express...we traveled with our friends and we all stayed at the Holiday Inn. The train ride was magical and our hotel stay was beautiful with the snowy veiws and awesome service.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony and remember to use your room key to turn on the room lights...just an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

The Polar Express is an event and experience in and of itself. We here at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango are pleased that you experience was also manifested in your recent stay with us. We take great pleasure and pride in creating an environment of enthusiasm, exceptional customer service and guest satisfaction. We are pleased to know that we are living up to that pledge. Again we thank you for your comments and your patronage and we look forward to accommodating you during your next visit to the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed a night here to ride the Durango Polar Express train. We requested and received two adjoining rooms which worked out really well for having our son and family with us. The staff was super friendly and helpful. They provided a shuttle service to the train.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We here at the Holiday Inn & Suites off Durango are thrilled that we delivered to you exactly what we pride ourselves on during your recent stay wit us. We are pleased we were able to cater to your needs with the various hotel accommodations that we extend to all of our guest during their stay with us. We thank you for your comments and your patronage and look forward to becoming your hotel family during your future stays in the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nicest hotel I have stayed at in Durango. New hotel, clean and well appointed rooms. Sporting News Grill, food and service was exceptional. Also it was a short walking distance from the hotel to the downtown shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
As always we appreciate the feedback that we recieve from all of our guest. We are pleased that you found our hotel to be exceptional in terms of service and that our found our location and amenities fit your needs. At the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango we take great pride in providing our guest with excellent customer service as a staff and management team. we as a staff thank you for your patronage and we hope that you have found a new hotel family whenever you travel to the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here two nights on either end of a day of skiing at Durango Mountain Resort. It is not really walking distance to any of the downtown Durango attractions, but we were visiting in the winter anyways so that was OK. The staff was nice, the hotel appears new and modern, and the pool and hot tub were great. Rooms were large, clean, and simple. $94 per night AAA rate. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We here at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango are pleased to know that you were as pleased with your stay as we are with having had the pleasure to accommodate you. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with all of or guest. We're sorry that you did not find our location to be adequate in proximity to historical downtown Durango. During your next visit please feel free to inquire about our complimentary shuttle service. Its a quick and easy way to get you to all of the downtown attractions that our guest love. We thank you again for your feedback and your patronage and look forward to being your future hotel family when you travel to the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a very new property. So it has all the pluses of a new hotel but also some of the drawbacks. The most important being no free breakfast. The restaurant in the hotel is of the sports bar variety. I ate dinner and breakfast there and found the breakfast was better than the dinner. At dinner I ordered the grilled salmon. Now if you only grill the salmon on one side which side do you serve face up? Wrong!! they served the un-grilled side face up, or how about grilling the fish on both sides?? I also ordered a side of grilled asparagus. I got five stalks of asparagus for five bucks, three of which where edible. Aside from the nit picky stuff at dinner the Denver omelet I had for breakfast was great! The staff at the hotel was terrific and the room was clean and had all the upscale stuff: fridge, microwave, coffee maker fake fireplace . When I'm in Durango again I'll stay here

Room Tip: Get one facing the back of the property they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We thank you for your feedback as we take the approach that feedback is a gift. We apologize that our hotel does not offer the complimentarty breakfast feature unlike our IHG sister properties. During your next reservation process in preparation to stay with us please do inquire about our rate that includes breakfast. This would include breakfast for two our previous guest that have taken advantage of this option love it. We ae pleased that as a guest you felt we lived up to the very high standards of customer service that we set forth for ourselves.
We apologize that we fell short of your dinner expectations. We take great pride in making the stay of all of our guest as complete in every aspect of satisfaction as possible. I will share your comments with our food and beverage director and staff members who will be sure to make improvments in all areas of your concern. Again we thank you for your feedback and look forward to seeing you during your next stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Address: 21636 Highway 160 West, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2013 Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.