We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21636 Highway 160 West, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Durango
cHICAGO
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“New Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Always nice to stay in a new property. They have done a decent job and they have a fitness room. Relative to the alternatives I highly recommend this property. Free Wi-Fi, parking and proximity to town. Clean and NEW. Breakfast is not included. WHen we checked in the guy was great! Checking out, the girl was not so service friendly but we were leaving so no worries:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
20
32
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

For being a brand new hotel I would think more attention would be paid to the quality of service at this hotel. The front desk staff was short and rude with me, the restaurant staff was even worse. We were not greeted or welcomed when we came through the door. The host was sitting at the bar and did not get up to seat us or give us menus. We ended up cutting our trip short at this hotel because while the room was beautiful and brand new, EVERY interaction with staff made us feel unwelcome. The location is terrible, there are much better places to stay in Durango at better prices. SKIP THIS ONE!!!

Room Tip: Do NOT waste your time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sharon L,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We are committed to our Hospitality Promise and strive to maintain the highest standard of quality and service. I assure you that proper measures have been taken to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, no issues with service..didn't eat at restaurant. My biggest compliant is that the mattresses are cheap and very uncomfortable. I have stayed in so many Holiday Inns as a priority club member and this is one of the most uncomfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear mere1426,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the comfort level of the mattress prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

When you spend over $200 a night expections are very high. Only one employee on duty in the evening. Water was luke warm could not get hot water to shower or shave. Requested extra blankets had to go to recepection desk to get them because only one employee on duty. Returned from dinner and had to endure a large gathering of men drinking and eating in the parking lot. We had teenage girls with us and they were subject to cat calls and bad language. Went to the Sports Bar and eventually the group of men came in and continued to act poorly.Needless to say we left. This is not what I expected from a well respected Nationial Chain. Next visit to Durango we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Rich3337,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is most disappointing to hear of your overall dissatisfaction and we are truly sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Again, thank you for your candid feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowstone N.P. Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Staying at this hotel as I write this review. Let me start by saying this is a new hotel and the rooms are quite nice. That being said, we are a family of 4 and we only had 3 bath towels. We also found the room to be lacking in blankets. Made a call down to the front desk and asked for blankets and a towel. Front desk person was short with me and said she could not bring anything up to the room as she was the only one on duty. Only 1 person working after 8 pm ??? Before I could say anything, she said her other line was ringing and she had to go. I would think at a rate of nearly $200 per night they could afford to have a couple people working. I would also add that there was a very loud group of drunks in the parking lot having a beer and pizza party . They were rude to everyone walking by and the hotel management did nothing about it. All and all a very disappointing stay at this hotel. Needless to say we will not be coming back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you expect to have any kind of service from the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Greencreeker,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize for the service you received during your stay did not live up to your expectations and any inconvenience the noise at our parking lot may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Morgan, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay if you are in Durango. Was somewhat disappointed that breakfast was not included in the price of the room. We normally try to stay with Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn Express for those 'extras'. The hotel restaurant did offer a breakfast menu. Prices were fair; food was excellent. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shara S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Holiday Inn Express hotel do offer a free breakfast in the morning. Since we are a Holiday Inn and Suites hotel brand, we offer a sit-down breakfast at our restaurant. Unlike Holiday Inn Express hotels, we do have an adjoining restaurant and bar and offer room service. If you decide to stay with us again, please keep in mind that we do offer a breakfast rate for a bit more. Thanks again for your feedback!
~Bridget Averill
Guest Relations Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the downtown area and train station but it's nice to be a little further away. Ate at the Sports bar in the hotel and the food was fantastic. Had the rib eye steak and it was cooked perfectly. Asked the bartender who was cooking and she said a chef that was on Hell's Kitchen who place 3rd. It was evident she can cook and enjoys what she does. We did the Bus to Silverton and the train back....I think this is the best way to do the train trip. Ate at Grumpy's in Silverton...food was great....and the piano player was a great surprise.
A great stay in Durango....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shara S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for providing such great feedback about our hotel and restaurant. We do have a new line cook, Jillian, who was in the top three of Hell’s Kitchen season eight. She is an incredible chef and has had a tremendous impact on the restaurant. We will look forward to your return!
~Bridget Averill
Guest Relations Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Address: 21636 Highway 160 West, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2013 Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.