We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Restful Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21636 Highway 160 West, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 30 hotels in Durango
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Restful Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a newly built hotel with lots of attention to style and comfort. With eco friendly lights, the first time we have seen this, and people friendly remote controls this stop was a treat. The service could not be topped.

The thermostat has a feature allowing you to keep the fan on low while heating or cooling the room which allows for wonderful white noise and an amazing nights rest. The hotel is built for quiet, too. A huge improvement over last night in Montrose where the hotel was nice but every noise echoed up and down the halls. In Durango when you walk down the hall it is as if you are in a museum. So important for the weary traveler.

Look for a place to rest in Durango, you have found it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shara S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am delighted that you took the time to write such wonderful things about our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback. I’m glad that you noticed all of the details that we put into building this beautiful new hotel. Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and we look forward to your return!

~Bridget Averill
Guest Relations Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    17
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
20
30
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our reservations at a nearby hotel were not ready and we decided to try this hotel... very clean, very new and yes, new staff! We did have a great room (although across from the swimming pool might not have been the best location!)... keep that in mind when you get your room! The front desk clerk and the breakfast server were attentive, they were new and it did take a little bit longer to get the service as requested - be it room discounts or specific breakfast items. The breakfast was delicious, the room was crisp and clean and very new... I do love that! I will compliment everyone - as they all were very nice and eager to serve... and we did enjoy our stay!

Room Tip: As mentioned in my review - try to avoid rooms near the pool. Location is on main floor - to the le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shara S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Nancy,

Thank you so very much for staying with us. We are pleased that we were able to make your experience here in Durango and enjoyable one. You are right we are a very new hotel, we opened our doors on Feb. 14, and like the day we opened we are all about love. We love our guests and we strive to make sure that they are able to love their stay and our hotel. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Durango. Have a winderful day.

Shara Smith-Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is very nice, clean and new. It has been open for 2 months. Rooms are nice, clean, and nice size. Good location to downtown. The sports bar and grill attached to the hotel is sub-par. Their idea of a good time is to have the tv's blaring as loud as possible. When upon asking what type of tequila used in making a margarita, she listed the lowest types available, even though they had different types displayed. Better training is needed. Also, no continental breakfast is available at this hotel. Also, no ice machines on each floor. Our opinion, is they opened before training is complete.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shara S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, as the newest hotel in Durango we look forward to all feedback from those who have a chance to stay with us. While I am overjoyed that your experience in the hotel was so wonderful I need to apologize for the issues that you experienced in the restaurant. Our Sports bar has the most amount of TVs in the area so there are times where the excitement of a game can be too much for our patrons and we need to do a better job of volume control at those times. As you stated we have a large drink selection and want to make sure that all our guests have something they can enjoy, we will make sure to incorporate your suggestions of upsaling into our future training. As you stated we have a new hotel with a new crew who will get the opportunity to review your comments and learn from them. We hope you will give the Sporting News Grill another try on your next trip to town. Please contact me before your trip so I can make sure you are taken care of properly.

As we learn and grow we are excited to announce our newest Chef, Jillian Flathers. She was one of the final 3 contestants on Season 9 of Hell's Kitchen!! Jillian has brought so much energy and innovation to an already wonderful kitchen crew and we are happy to have her on the team. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Kindest Regards,
Shara Smith-Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We arrived late at night at the hotel - it was easy to find and check in was a breeze. Found a great last minute deal on Hotels.com for this hotel, and it was well worth the value. The bed was comfortable with lots of pillows, the bathroom was super clean and beautiful, and they had DirectTV, which was an awesome touch!! I had to laugh though, because the carpets in the hallways were a crazy design (looked like someone spilled buckets of hot pink paint on the floor)! The doors slammed if you didn't catch them in time - they definitely need to put a stopper on that. Hope we didn't wake up any neighbors when the door caught us off guard! I would definitely stay in this hotel again - brand new elegance! Lobby was beautiful and the hotel was close to downtown Durango.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shara S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and all of the amenities that we have to offer. We do now have door stoppers on the doors to our rooms so that will no longer be an issue if you decide to stay with us again. Once again, thank you for reviewing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at this brand new hotel. Check in and front desk friendly and efficient even on a full busy night. The hotel is nicely decorated in a trendy style. The room was large and pleasant with extra touches like make up mirror and giant screen tv with many channel choices and lots of pillows. The only drawback was that the beds were very hard and could use a pillow top mattress pad and smoother sheets. Overall it was a great stay at a good price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shara S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have a very hard-working front desk team so we greatly appreciate your kind words about our employees. I’m sorry that you didn’t like our beds. If you choose to stay with us again we will definitely be able to get you a second mattress pad/blanket or whatever you need to make your stay more comfortable. I am glad that you acknowledged that we do have good prices for the quality of our rooms. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

~Guest Relations Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn over the weekend and was BLOWN AWAY! The service was friendly and professional! The hotel was clean and modern, and our room was absolutely flawless. We were going to leave the hotel to eat, but with a sport bar right in the hotel (and March Madness on every TV) my husband was not going anywhere! The food was excellent and the environment was so relaxing! We will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shara S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for the dazzling review on our hotel! We take pride in our outstanding service and it is so great that you recognized that! We look forward to your return!

~Bridget Averill
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very nice property in the Four Corners Area. Convenient location and a wide variety (26) of rooms. Welcoming design and architecture. Well-decorated lobby and rooms. Excellent HDTV with huge channel selection (DirecTV). Nice bar, with a wide

Room Tip: I stayed in a corner room with a decorative fireplace. There are also some very nice suites without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shara S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you taking the time to review our hotel. We are indeed the newest hotel in Durango---opening day was February 14th. We do have a wide variety of room types, including rooms with jacuzzis, fireplaces, mobily accessible, hearing accessible, suites, etc. I am glad that you were able to recognize this and all of the amenities that our hotel has to offer. We will look forward to your return!

~Bridget Averill
Guest Relations Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Address: 21636 Highway 160 West, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2013 Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.