We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derailed Pour House

Derailed Pour House
725 Main St., Durango, CO 81301
970 247 5440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 161 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great food. Great drinks. Friendly, talkative staff. I tried the smoked pork taco plate. It was really spicy but tasted great. I really liked the atmosphere and the live music is a plus as well. Todd and Lisa seemed like really down to earth people that care about their customers. I'll make sure to visit again next time I'm in Durango. This was a pleasant surprise.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    15
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

So... we wouldn't have tried this place out since it wasn't one of the ones we picked from TripAdvisor recommendations, but..... ended up here after we decided we couldn't wait forever for 3 other restaurants!

We got in right away and ordered. Waitresses were friendly. I know it is more of a bar type of place, not a huge dinner selection, but it was really good. Smoked pulled pork - OMG! And the baked chicken and Philly Cheese steak... So Good!

My only complaint .. and it is for every restaurant in this town (or at least every place that is supposedly good) .. is that every place is so frickin' small! That is why there is always a wait.. When you go in and see the inside, I'm surprised at how small it is.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Get the pulled pork sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My family loved this place. Our food was wonderful! We sat by the open windows drinking Duango Wheat Beer, listening to awesome live music. The only complaint was the service was slow, and not very friendly. I would go there again though!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Really a 2.5”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were spending the night in Durango as part of an 8 day van trip thru CO. Liked the vibe of the town MUCH.
Started the evening at the Durango Arts Center for a reception and announcement of art show winners. Nice eats too.
Then we stopped at the Gallery next to this joint to enjoy Steve McCurry's photographs. he is a master.......and the red wine was pretty good.....and free.
Derailed Pour House was next door and we figured that Fri. night special of burgers @$6 should be good. Guess we were thinking of the ChopHouse in Boulder. Our waiter said the wait was only 18 min........I asked.....it felt longer.....and the burgers did NOT come med rare as ordered...they were more done and tasteless. We had a stuffed burger too @8.....cheddar and bacon. Don't waste your calories or bucks.
From past posts, it sounds like the place has been revamped. WELL......the seating is SO poor...people wanted to come in for HH......but left. Don't know who the designer was.....but i can tell you Derailed is definitely losing business.
perhaps other items on the menu are worthy.......our burgers were not.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“New name...new face...new menu...all still equals a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Love the new front window seating...beautiful setting for a beautiful evening. Their new menu includes pulled pork in a variety of BBQ flavors - definitely a good addition. Wonderful service, but they could use a few more waitstaff to move things along quicker. Loved the new atmosphere!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derailed Pour House also viewed

 

Been to Derailed Pour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derailed Pour House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.