We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Durango's finest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poppy's - CLOSED

Poppy's
139 East 5th Street, Durango, CO 81301
970-259-2320
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of Durango's finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

On our first stop in here..we were told that Poppy's only served lunch. We walked in and greeted warmly by a lovely young lady. The smell of the bread was wonderful and is baked fresh everyday...different grains. The sandwiches are loaded with out being overly so. They are tasteful and huge. The atmosphere is homey and quant, fireplace and a reading corner with books. Thanks, Poppy's for being great! and close to our hotel.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Ate lunch here a couple of times with the absolute best people. The sandwiches were terrific and the atmosphere was comfy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stopped by for lunch. Great sandwiches, went with my two children and the kids menu was perfect! A worker even used a yo-yo to entertain them.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best lunch spot in town!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I love Poppy's - from it's soothing atmosphere both inside and outside in the grassy courtyard to it's delicious sandwhiches with the homemade bread! Soup and salad are also available. It is open from 11 to 3 and is in a great location at the end of Main St across from the train station. The free Main Street trolley stops just a few blocks away. The courtyard is a pleasant bonus as the weather is usually beautiful and I would rather be outside. There are tables with and without umbrellas so you are free to choose which one to sit at. I choose the hot "Tigger Higgins" roast beef and cheddar sandwhich on multi-grain bread and it came with a choice of apple or chips. I substituted the wasabi mayo for Poppy's Russian dressing and was it ever good and filling (took half home for dinner!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Local Reviewer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I like Poppy's a lot. They have a great selection of sandwiches, and the food is fresh and delicious. The seating is a little tight in cold months, without the patio seating.

They get a bit rushed at times, but I've never had anything but a great meal here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.