We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it, great entertainment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar D Chuckwagon Supper Show

Bar D Chuckwagon Supper Show
8080 County Rd 250, Durango, Durango, CO
970-247-5753
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 28 Attractions in Durango
Type: Dinner Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Famous Old West Music and Comedy Stage Show. This is not a restaurant and not a barbecue. Show ticket price includes supper and an evening’s entertainment for the entire family. Serving sliced roast beef or chicken breast simmered in our famous barbecue sauce or an optional flame grilled ribeye steak with all the trimmings. Open nightly Memorial Day Weekend thru Labor Day. Reservations required.
IL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well worth it, great entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I both really enjoyed this. Both the supper and the show. Good hot food served in a hurry. No complaints. The show was great. They were really good. Great family entertainment. Would do it again for sure.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    43
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good entertainment and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just really good down home fun with good country music. Even our 9 year old grandson enjoyed the food and musical show.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Good food----great entertainment !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Since there is already a lot of good reviews for this attraction, I will give you some of my observations and tips. Whether you have reservations or not, you will be seated by your place in line beginning at 5:30 so if you want to sit close to the stage arrive about 5:15. There will probably be a line started even then. Supper doesn't begin until 7:30, but this place can seat hundreds of people and your experience will be more enjoyable if you are closer to the stage. After you get your table assignment, picnic tables that seat 12 people, place an item such as a sweater or blanket where you wish to sit at the table. We saw people place blankets on the seats to reserve their places. After that, you can roam around the gift shops, which have reasonable prices, or take a ride on the little train. Cowboy poetry is read in the chapel at a specified time. There is a nice kiddie playground. You can sit on benches scattered among the trees and listen to the musicians sing from time to time. This is a beautiful scenic area.

Food---$24 for either chicken or roast beef. The chicken is very good. The roast beef is not in slices; it is more like little flat squares. (I didn't think it was as good as the chicken.) Both have barbeque sauce. $28 gets you both the chicken and the beef. $34---a ribeye steak, which I was told was very good. Kids 8 and under are $10. All come with baked potato, beans, applesauce, biscuit, spice cake, and lemonade or coffee. They may announce that food is left over and you could have seconds if you desire.

Entertainment---musicians who have won titles in their fields. Lots of jokes and laughter. They have their own rewritten versions of "The Lion Sleeps Tonight" (my favorite), "Ghostriders in the Sky", and "Old MacDonald." Hilarious! They also sing patriotic songs the audience can join in. The stage show is the reason I like to arrive early and get a good seat. This is a great way to spend an evening in Durango.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas/Ft. Worth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun show for the whole family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Fun show for the whole family! Our kids (8, 9, and 11) loved it! I thought it was going to be more of a comedy show, but it is only singing. However, the singing is very fun and most of the songs are humorous. I was very impressed it kept our kids attention for the hour long show!

They suggest you arrive around 5:30, but with kids that is WAY too much time to wait before they serve dinner at 7:30. Even if you arrive later all the seats are good, as the stage is raised. I would recommend arriving around 6:30 even if you have to sit further back from the stage. The food is nothing to rave about, but is adequate. If you are a vegetarian, just let them know and they will give you more beans and apple sauce.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Good chuck wagon style food. The entertainment was excellent, both parents and kids were laughing. Everyone enjoyed the evening!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bar D Chuckwagon Supper Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar D Chuckwagon Supper Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.