We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved my stay at Lightner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lightner Creek Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lightner Creek Campground
Save
You added Lightner Creek Campground to your Saves list
1567 County Road 207, (Lightner Creek Rd.), Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Euless, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved my stay at Lightner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed the first full week of July. We normally stay in State or National parks but could not find around SW CO with hook-ups, so we picked Lightner. We were overjoyed!!! The sites were small but the trees helped, as did the wonderful campers. Our children found friends within minutes of being there and didn't want to leave the park each day. The kids played at the park, swam in the pool and loved playing in the creek with all their new friends. We all loves the ice cream social :). The bathrooms were kept very clean, loved that!!! Owners were wonderful, staff was wonderful. I can't find a negative - the only way you wouldn't like this place is if you were antisocial.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I stayed here back in June when we came to Durango for a wedding. We found this place on TA and it was better than all the great reviews it has already received. We stayed in one of their housekeeping cabins with our 4 small children. Worked out great for our needs with all the benefits of a hotel but in the scenic surroundings of the mountains for the same price as a hotel room. Our kids spent most of the time in the creek which was right across the road from our cabin. Will definitely stay again when we return to Durango.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lightner Creek campground is indeed on Lightner Creek. We stayed in a trailer site with full hookups. A number of seniors who are "on duty" helping new arrivals, cleaning, generally watching over the campground. the result is clean restrooms and showers, and a generally welcoming atmosphere. The owners are very responsive and helpful. Pleasant pool available. Laundry open 24 hours a day. Propane refills on site. I was surprised to find that my dog LOVED the doggie park. Maybe it was because toys were available. Maybe because the helpful retirees took their dogs there, so it was a great place to meet -- and play with -- other dogs. Would definitely stay again. It was only about a 15-20 minute drive into Durango, so it felt convenient to town.

Room Tip: We enjoyed camping near the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I'm a tent camper from way back and so don't ordinarily enjoy RV camping. This was a great little campground, though. There are a number of permanent residents who live in RV's but work in shifts to make sure everything is clean and operating well. We needed a piece of plywood cut to make our trailer more comfortable; they came right down to our site and cut it for us! The pool is really great--warm and not too much chlorine--and large enough to swim laps. The owners are friendly and helpful. Nights are perfectly quiet after 10 pm. We loved all the trees and the creek and the little dog park is big enough to throw a ball for a large dog to get some exercise. They even have horseshoes, though we were there in a heatwave so weren't very tempted. Because it's in a steep little valley, it feels secluded--but it really is only minutes in to Durango. If you like sitting outside and listening to your tunes though, better use earbuds--and if your dog likes to bark, that will be a problem. It's a nice, quiet park with a lot of friendly people--and well worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

After looking at the sky-high prices for basic lodging in Durango, we stumbled across the very neat and completely equipped "housekeeping" cottages at Lightner Creek Campground. The cabin we rented was very clean and totally equipped (pots, pans, utensils, toaster, coffee-maker, etc.). The campground itself is very well maintained, with a very nice pool and small playground. Though clearly dominated by large RVs, there are some well shaded tent sites located well away from them. The free Wifi, however, is hopelessly slow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandan, North Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed one week at Lightner Creek Campground, which my brother found on the 'net when looking for a place for four of us to get together on vacation. Our primary destination for the trip was Mesa Verde National Park. The campground is about an hour away from the park. We made reservations well ahead of our stay. The entire campground sits on a mountain side uphill from Durango, Colorado. Trees abound, you're actually staying in the woods. Campground personnel guide you and your rig to your assigned spots, doing their best to accommodate any special requests, and helping you to get your rig aligned. We were right next to the creek itself, and so watched birds and fish do their thing(s). The hosts kept the campground and its facilities immaculate, and quiet hours were truly quiet. The camp store was stocked with anything you might have forgotten. Kids had their own playground, and a daily creature hunt with prizes. We adults appreciated a quiet, restful place to relax after trooping around cliff dwellings all day. While this may sound too regimented for the dedicated backwoods camper, for families and for adults who want a bit more comfort and a few more amenities while camping, Lightner Creek Campground is ideal.

Room Tip: Use the website to pick and reserve your spot. No pull through spots at creekside, but going to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We've stayed at Lightner Campground several times and have enjoyed it everytime. The last time they even helped me back up my tent trailer into the site, which was my biggest fear using the trailer for the first time. The campground is very clean, inviting, and pleasant. I would recommend this campground to anyone traveling through this area!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lightner Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lightner Creek Campground

Address: 1567 County Road 207, (Lightner Creek Rd.), Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Number of rooms: 97

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lightner Creek Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.