We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen

Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen
862 Main Avenue, Durango, CO
970-259-2749
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 149 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen is a contemporary American bistro with a southwestern flair. Fresh salads, creative small plates, artisanal pizzas, and fire-roasted steaks, chicken and seafood are prepared in twin 600+ degree stone hearth ovens in an open kitchen. The Owners have restored the interior of the historic Century Building on Main Avenue, revealing turn-of-the century Carnegie steel support beams, the original maple hardwood floor and decorative tin ceiling tiles, and the original brick wall. These historical elements, along with the expo kitchen, rollup windows, and 35-foot curved bar, create an urban industrial loft setting for a unique Durango dining experience.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just spent 4 days in Durango and was referred to Chimayo by one of the locals. It was a wonderful find and we ended up eating everyone of our evening meals at this fantastic place. The food is delicious and artistically created by amazing chef and owner, Michael. The ambiance is cozy and the staff friendly and very attentive! Every night we had wonderful, healthy gourmet quality food at a VERY reasonable price! The portions are large so expect to share or be totally stuffed by the time you leave! Really a fantastic menu and we recommend it highly. Everything we had was so delicious, I just wished we would have had time to taste everything on the menu!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimayoDurango, Owner at Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Nestor - We truly enjoyed having you dine with us on your recent trip to Durango! We appreciate the great feedback and we hope you'll have the opportunity to come see us again. Best, Michael L., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    59
    19
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My significant other and I have been to this restaurant about a half a dozen times. We are always impressed with the food, the atmosphere and the service. We have sat at the bar, back by the wood fired grills and I the traditional dining areas. Always a terrific experience! Our latest visit was this evening for Valentines Day. Our waiter Ty was awesome. We were greeted promptly, sat down right away, and met by our server within minutes. We started with a shrimp and crab claw appetizer, followed by a house salad and a small bowl of soup. I don't recall the name of the soup but it was a puréed cream soup comprised of root vegetables with a bit of apple infused. This was one of the best soups we have ever tasted. The chef and creator of the soups, Michael Lufty, came to our table to discuss his preparation method for the soup. We followed with the main course of prime rib for my husband and I had the salmon. Awesome presentation and preparation was perfect. Our dessert was a triple chocolate dessert with mousse, dark chocolate bark, and a torte cake. Everything was amazing! If you are in Durango, this is a "must stop" for a dinner you won't forget. If you only have time for a drink, stop by the bar and grab a drink and a quick bite. The owners are always on-site and are actively involved in the operation of the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimayoDurango, Owner at Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hello - We know how many restaurants there are in the Durango area and we appreciate you choosing Chimayo on a regular basis. We appreciate your loyalty and company. We will give your compliments to Ty for his exceptional service. Thanks for the review! Best, Michael L., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Awesome Valentine's Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We enjoyed a nice Valentine's dinner at the kitchen bar, watching all the chef and oven action. The Cioppino weekly special was the best I've EVER had! And I try it whenever it's on a menu. Sara enjoyed a polenta cake with vegetables and goat cheese. Check out the picture of our special dessert....MMMMM!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimayoDurango, Owner at Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thanks for the awesome review Doug! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Valentine's Day dinner. We love your picture! We can't wait to see you again this weekend. Best, Michael L., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouray, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Great food selections! Fun atmosphere! Great wine selection! I love the huge windows on the street that I think open in the summer. :) The staff is very knowledgeable.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimayoDurango, Owner at Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Faith and David! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this great review! We appreciate your feedback and patronage. We're glad to hear you enjoy the atmosphere, staff, food and wine! We can't wait to see you again soon. Best, Michael L., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Fast Becoming A Favorite Durango Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We've now eaten at Chimayo on more than a half dozen occasions and can say that the food is consistently very good. The ambience is great and the service is excellent. My wife loves the roasted poblano chile and I really like the stone fired pizzas. I was a little disappointed with the poblano lasagna, which was pretty good, but a bit heavy. We both enjoy the queso funded appetizer. We'll continue returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimayoDurango, Owner at Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi Boulder-USA, We’re very happy to hear about your positive experiences at Chimayo. We’re sorry to hear about the lasagna, anytime you are not 100% satisfied with an entrée please let your server or management know. We want you to leave happy on every visit. Thank you for the review and feedback, we cannot improve without it. We can’t wait to see you again next time! Best, Michael L., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.