We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added General Palmer Hotel to your Saves list
General Palmer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

I stayed at the General Palmer in May and have posted a review for that visit.

Folks at the front desk weren’t nearly as friendly during this visit. I had to wait a good 5 minutes to check in, as there was only 1 person working the desk and she was tied up on the phone booking what sounded like a rather complicated reservation. During our 2 day stay, only once did anyone at the front desk offer a greeting when we walked through the lobby. This was a drastic difference from our other stay when staff at the desk always greeted us.

The complimentary breakfast was still a treat and included the same items as last time. On our second day, we arrived for breakfast at 9:00 and just about everything was depleted. We waited about 10 minutes and a staff member surfaced and replenished everything. We were surprised to see that this same staff member was also assigned to the cleaning of rooms at the same time. She was doing her best to juggle both assignments, but it seemed a poor decision on the part of management to expect one person to do both things.

During both visits we opted for the interior room with a queen bed. We didn’t experience any problems in May, but this time we dealt with a very unpleasant odor. During the day, the room was fine. But each evening (around 9:00 or 10:00 pm), a burnt/smoky odor (cigarettes or popcorn?) filled the room. The odor peaked when the AC was on, leading us to believe it was coming through the ductwork. I’ve sent a complaint to management but have not yet received a reply. I very much regret not having reported it during our first night, but I was convinced that it was an anomaly.

Overall, the General Palmer is a good property. If you plan to explore historic Durango and/or take the Durango Silverton Rail, you cannot beat the General Palmer’s location. We parked our car and didn’t move it for 2 days. During peak season, the hotel charges a premium rate. I must confess that I’ve never paid such a high rate in many other cities (including Las Vegas, San Francisco, Washington DC, and Miami). But the availability of competing hotels in those venues has made it easier to shop around for good rates. Still, ease of parking, good breakfast, and decent room makes this rate worthwhile, especially when comparing rates at the few other hotels in Durango.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    74
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
40
119
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

This was a beautiful historic hotel and a great value. It is rated a 4* and I agree. Although historic it has been beautifully renovated with great bathroom and nice touches. Location is super convenient to everything in downtown Durango including being right in front of the train depot for the Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge RR. Continental breakfast was included and was in a lovely room, but the selection was a little skimpy.

  • Liked — Well planned room, location
  • Disliked — Soot from train gets on cars in parking lot if you park in the wrong spots
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

Could not be better located for downtown Durango. Right by the Station - no need for an early morning call when the whistle blows - and near many good restaurants and shops. Plenty of resident parking too - which is helpful as the main street gets busy.
Rooms were a reasonable size - not as big as a modern hotel - but ample. Nicely decorated, with period furniture and comfy beds. All mod cons provided too. Bathroom was excellent.
Also, there was a nice communal balcony where you could sit, relax, drink and watch the trains, main street etc.
Breakfast was good.
If you want a standard US hotel/motel there are many sited on the nearby highway. This place offers character, an experience and a much more pleasant ambiance.

  • Liked — Character and location
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

The rooms were designed to give an image of Victoriana but clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were adequate and well prepared. Proper crockery and cutlery was used!
The staff on reception were the least attractive feature of the hotel. Smiles were forgotten, although there was no doubt; the ubiquitous "have a nice day". Worst of all the receptionist watched as we struggled through the gated lift doors, that sprung closed of their own accord. It was left to a cleaner, on another floor, to advise us to clip the doors back with a hook whilst we loaded our cases onto the lift!

  • Liked — Cenrtal location and Victorian atmosphere
  • Disliked — poor service on reception
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at the General Palmer. We reserved the Presidential Suite for 5 nights. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location to walk to all restaurants in town and has parking for their guest if needed. The Durango-Silverton train is very close and the whistle from the train reminds you of days of old. Sleeping late may be a problem because the whistle will toot a few times before 7am but it was not an issue for us. The staff is very accommodating in every way. The hotel has a sitting area on the second floor outside that would be very nice for large parties to gather. The elevator is small but very unique and fitting for the era. The suite was very large with a sitting area, wet bar and confortable king bed. Durango is a great little town full of things to do and with a short drive you can visit the Mesa Verde, Pegosa Springs, Silverton and Monument Valley, the high point of our trip.

  • Liked — Location, historic hotel
  • Disliked — using stairs but needed the excercise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

We stayed at the General Palmer during the Durango Film Festival. Not only is it close to everything, it was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were super clean and very quaint. They even have q-tips and a hairdryer in the room. You'll use the elevator once for your luggage, then use the stairs. The elevator is fun, but very small. The continental breakfast is very nice, and there are always fresh baked cookies in the lobby.

Our only complaint is the traffic noise outside our room, but that is what happens when you stay down town.

Don't be afraid to try this very historic and lovely hotel!!

  • Liked — The historic value and cleanliness
  • Disliked — traffic noise
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, CO
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

I will preface this by saying we loved this hotel and tried to stay here whenever we were in Durango. Unfortunately, our last stay, October 27-29, 2006, left a bad taste in our mouths. We had booked our reservation through the hotel website on October 16 and received a confirmation e-mail that same day. When we arrived, however, there was no reservation to be found. We were told that the assistant manager was on vacation and that she was the only one who had access to the e-mail. We were also told that this was not an uncommon occurrence(!!!). Luckily, they had other rooms available (all of the other upper-end hotels in Durango were booked solid that weekend). We did have to change rooms on the second night, but we were fine with that. When we contacted the general manager today to relay our concern over our experience, she became very defensive and indignant. We were shocked -- we weren't looking for a refund or any other compensation -- we just wanted our favorite hotel to be the best it could be and thought she should know about this (potentially disastrous) recurring problem. Her attitude spoke volumes about the professionalism (or lack thereof), of the hotel management. I think we'll be finding a new favorite hotel in Durango.

  • Liked — Wonderful accommodations
  • Disliked — the attitude of management
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't make reservations through the hotel's website -- you may not have any when you arrive!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Palmer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.