We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Job General!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added General Palmer Hotel to your Saves list
General Palmer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Job General!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the General Palmer. The online reservation went without a hitch and the good news when we checked in was that we got a discount for AAA membership. The check in staff and bellman were both very polite and helpful. Rather than try to squeeze into the narrow elevator, we let the bellman handle it. That's what service is all about. If you are too cheap to tip someone for service, stay at the Holiday Inn.
The warm cookies are very nice. As we arrived late and the cookies were gone, the on duty manager volunteered to make a new batch.She did and we had our choice.
Overall, nice hotel, very well located. Free parking. And close to train station which we were booked on.
Overall, very restfull and a nice place to relax and enjoy lodging outside the major hotel brand box.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    77
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
47
133
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

The General Palmer Hotel is the best place for a romantic getaway in Colorado. Located in the heart of Durango you can park your car for free and walk everywhere in town. The rooms are beautifully done in Victorian decor. It smells like home. The breakfast is included and freshly baked cookies are waiting for you in the afternoon. You can hear the train whistles and watch them arrive and depart from the terraces. We felt so rested and rejuvenated after just a weekend that we want to come back for a longer stay. Thank you to the staff for being attentive and informative without being stuffy. It was a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Pamphlets and photos are misleading. Victorian building and lobby, yes, rooms no. Bathrooms updated circa 1970's with 1970 style. Hotel needs to either restore "in period" or modernize to "luxury" standards. Another Hotel 1 block down the street also in prime location to downtown. Straiter or Stratton? Looks much nicer quality wise. More luxurious in Victorian standards. Heat is boiler system, so heaven help you if you dont have an outside window (which most rooms don't). Breakfast was muffins and coffee-not even homemade muffins at that. Bed was comfy but had dirty bedspreads (and no, they are not just victorian era. they are 1990 era imitations.) I've stayed in worse, but don't expect the flavor of the lobby to carry on upstairs. overall complaint is that the owners are not reinvesting the money to keep the place at the top of where General Palmer would have liked his reputation to reflect.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

I was very disappointed in this hotel. Durango is very expensive so the price paid for our accomodation at this hotel was reasonable for the area but still quite high for what we felt we got.

While I understood the hotel's decor is supposed to be in keeping with the late 1800's, not a high point in history as far as taste goes, I was still disappointed in my room. The dark woods, hideous floral wallpaper and dark carpeting were depressing. There was a lovely old dresser in the room that I appreciated. But frankly, other than that positive, our room was just... ugly. Plus, I couldn't sleep. There was a skylight above our door that let in bright light from the hallway. It was miserable. To top it off, the room's cleanliness wasn't up to par. When I moved the coffeemaker to make room for my things there were coffee grinds everywhere. Plus the bathroom could have been a little cleaner. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable and we aren't picky in that regard. Their continental breakfast was very basic, especially for those of us who don't enjoy sweets in the morning. However, the cookies they put out in the lobby in the afternoons were delicious and tasted homemade.

We didn't find enough to do in the area to keep us more than one night and we were very unhappy with our room so we wanted to leave after just one night even though our reservation was for two nights. To their credit, they were very nice about this and didn't penalize us for checking out early. So they do try. To be fair, my sister stayed here two months before my visit on her Southwestern trip and she loved it and enjoyed puttering around the town of Durango for an entire day. I stayed at this hotel on her recommendation and planned on devoting two entire days to the area on her say-so as well. Many seemed to enjoy the authenticity of the public rooms. It just wasn't a good fit for us.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

The nice thing about the General Palmer is its location, near restaurants and the other amenities of an historical district. The bad thing about the General Palmer is its location--right beside the depot for the Durango-Silverton Railroad. Thus, every morning from 7:30-8:30 you are serenaded with train whistles and bells practically underneath your bedroom window! Not a place for late sleepers!
We found the staff to be fine--no complaints. But my bed listed to starboard and almost put me on the floor a couple of times! Our room was small. It tended to overheat in the afternoons and evenings. I think next time we'll try somewhere farther away from that train station.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmington, nm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

I stayed at the General Palmer the weekend of October 23- 24, 2009. The entire purpose of the trip was to propose to my girlfriend. The manager and all of the staff helped me with room selection, arranged to have flowers and truffles waiting for our arrival, and helped me with my every need. They made a very romantic and comfortable surrounding and helped me to create a memory that will last a lifetime. The room service and continental breakfast were exceptional and the room was large and luxurious and included all amenities. I strongly suggest The General Palmer for any and all occasions (especially romantic ones). They are definitely the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! By the way, she said yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

There were 3 couples in our group, the first indicator of this stay not being what we had expected was the only reservation on file was for me and my wife, our friends were not listed. We were all supposed to have rooms with windows and we had a confirmation. The staff put 2 couples in rooms without windows and they were very uncomfortable due to heat. We were in a room with a window and our room became comfortable with the window raised to allow 40 degree air in from outside. The staff said the heat was off and there was nothing that could be done for the rooms without windows. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable, but the HVAC is not what you would expect in a 4 diamond hotel. The hotel is in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Palmer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.