We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful trip in history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added General Palmer Hotel to your Saves list
General Palmer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Chittenango, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful trip in history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The General Palmer is a beautiful historic hotel that is fist class accomodations all the way. There is nothing more to ask for or add to a stay at this hotel staffed with very helpful and professional local people who went out of thier way to asist us in every way.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    65
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
37
107
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Recently my extended family, my husband and I (6 in all), spent 4 days in Durango at the General Palmer. It was my elderly Mother’s birthday weekend, and several of her first cousins came to town to join in the celebration. We had two separate rooms, and I can’t say enough good things about our stay, it was definitely a 5-star experience.

The hotel is one of the oldest in Durango, is located right on main street, so anytime we wanted to go out to eat, shopping, etc. it was just a short walk away. Unless we had to go out of town for something, we left the car parked (free parking) and walked wherever we went.

The hotel itself is very well maintained, exquisitely appointed and beautifully furnished with antiques, period wallpaper, etc. The entire hotel was sparkling clean and the elevator worked very well and was a godsend for us. The rooms were very comfortable whether we were sleeping or visiting.

The continental breakfast was awesome, there was a great variety of food and there was always plenty of everything. We enjoyed meeting downstairs for breakfast each day, lounging and talking for a while before starting our day.

The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful, greeting us each time we entered the hotel, and assisting us whenever we needed help. My mother uses a walker and they always were ready to help her get where she needed to go.

The General Palmer is very well managed and was a great experience at a very reasonable price. I would highly recommend staying there when visiting Durango! We’ll be back!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

We just spent on night at the General Palmer (GP), after having spent a nice at the Strater Hotel down the block. This hotel was nearly perfect. The location was perfect, right along main street. The train ran behind the hotel, so we got some great pics but were never bothered by the whistle.

The queen room was perfectly appointed and much bigger (perhaps due to less clutter, too) than at the Strater. We LOVED the vanity area and separate bathroom. As trivial as it may seem to some, one thing we loved were the amenities. The soap/shampoo/etc. were great, as were the fuzzy robes. The flat-screen TV was a nice addition. The CD alarm clock was a bit fancy for me, and I couldn't figure out how to turn it off in the morning! Other details, like the ceiling fan and stained glass transom, were just great.

The common areas were nearly as nice as at the Strater. There always seemed to be cookies, hot chocolate, cider and lemonade available near the counter. We all but skipped the continental breakfast, as there was nothing enticing.

Yes, the elevator is small. It is gold-plated and gorgeous, with a heavy iron retractable door, so I'd ask for help if I were a little old or frail. It just fit two adults and two suitcases, and we rarely waited for it. In fact, aside from transporting luggage, we just used the stairs.

The only fault we can find -- and it was enough to make us think again about coming back -- was the front desk help. One young girl who checked us in was wearing something like jeans and a hoodie and had some questionable-looking guy friends hanging around the desk. That and her casual attitude immediately set the tone. It was a world of difference from the Strater, where even the youngest receptionists were absolutely polite and polished. Not to be discouraged, we blew this off and enjoyed settling in our room. However, when we returned that night to sit in the lobby and enjoy some cider, she didn't acknowlege us at all as we walked through. We sat in a sitting room for a few mins. but couldn't enjoy our own conversation, as she was having a rather loud private conversation on her cell phone. Since this went on for a while, we retired to our room, sorry to have not been able to enjoy the lobby more.

Aside from the front desk staff and the continental breakfast (which, who comes for the food, anyway?), we loved the GP. Between this and the Strater, it's a hard choice. If you like solitude and don't mind possibly encountering sub-par staff, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

Stayed at this charming old fashioned hotel and loved it. Great rooms and the staff were excellent. Typical breakfast, not very good.
Small elevator when you have big bags. No internet facilities.

  • Liked — Nice room and great staff on reception
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

The General Palmer was a great find. About the same price as the chain hotels in town, but certainly a cut above. Breakfast, which is included was exceptional. The rooms are small but very clean and updated. Service was very good. Old timey elevator that made taking bags up a little tricky. Great location and on-site free parking.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

This was a beautifully and finely appointed hotel. The beds were very comfortable and had high-quality linens. The room was very clean and the service was personable. Decent continental breakfast was included. Just a pleasurable stay all around and reasonably priced.

  • Liked — How well the hotel was decorated and maintained
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

The General Palmer is a beautifully restored historic property very close to the Durango and Silverton Railroad Depot. I stayed in the least expensive interior room with a murphy bed. The staff was pleasant. I agree with other reviewers that the historic elevator is extremely small, but interesting for its historic value. The hotel contains a lot of polished brass and victorian decoration. My room was not large, but had plenty of room with modern furnishings, including a comfortable couch. The hotel is conveniently located to restaurants and the railroad station, I enjoyed staying at this hotel named after the builder of the Durango and Silverton Rio Grande RR. Nice views from the covered deck of of the trains departing and arriving.

  • Liked — Luxurious historic property with very convenient location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Family Hotel in Durango
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Palmer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.