We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic authentic 1880's era with amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added General Palmer Hotel to your Saves list
General Palmer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Romantic authentic 1880's era with amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel is beautiful! Classic 1880's style with modern conveniences. Authentic furnishings throughout the hotel lobby and rooms. Modern conveniences include a cute little elevator, first even TV, in room coffee, free continental breakfast, free parking adjancent to hotel, the narrow gauge railroad station is half a block away and you can watch the train from the second and third storey decks! It's on the main stet and eat waking to all the restaurants and shopping. I like this place!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    77
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
47
132
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

On our recent two-week road trip of Colorado and New Mexico. We spent two nights in Durango, and selected the General Palmer Hotel. It was the perfect choice. This restored 1898 hotel offers the comfort and hospitality that the greatest hotels in US aspire for. The rooms are elegantly appointed, and furnished to provide the guests the highest comfort. You experience the Victorian elegance and the Southwestern hospitality as soon as you step in the lobby of this hotel. If you are interested in historic sites, this is a place you don’t want to miss.

The hotel is two stories and only 39 units. It is located in the center of town and within walking distance of all the points of interest. The original elevator is still functional. The friendly staff rounds the charm of this hotel.

This hotel is at the top of my list of places to stay.

Room Tip: Our room had two windows facing the street, and it was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

You really feel like you are back in the Old West when staying at this hotel. Old time elevator, freshly baked cookies every day, windows you can open and hear the clip-clopping of the horse and buggies - overall FUN!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I wasn't able to get a reservation when I was first planning our vacation, so when we walked past I took a chance and went up to the desk clerk to see if their had been any cancellations. There was and I'm so glad of it! We had a room overlooking Main Street and at nights we would open our windows and listen to the band across the street. Beautiful decor from what could be 100 years ago, but still has the tech we want in the 21st century. A great touch was first coming into the room and hearing classical music playing on their CD/clock radio. Nice touches like that make it worth staying here everytime we come here

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The General Palmer is located within walkung distance of many stores and restaurants and next to the train station. It has kept its Victorian decor and is a charming place to stay. We had a very high four poster bed and our heat went out but the staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our room was in the annex and we enjoyed it very much! The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, it was cleaned very well with attention to small details, the decor was so unique compared to chain hotels and it was quiet in the morning and at night - except for the train whistles. We loved hearing the train, how often do you hear the sound of a locomotive? The location is great and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The cost was very reasonable. Other reviewers complained about the breakfast but for the all the plusses of this hotel, I can live with delicious blueberry scones, eggs, bacon, yogurt, etc. The only small complaint was the water in the shower would cycle through hot to cold every few minutes. However, I am still giving this grand hotel a five star rating. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We were in the annex (Palace) and never heard other guests. We did hear the train, which we thoroug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We chose to stay here because of the proximity to the train station as we planned an early morning departure to Silverton and could not beat the location for this plannednactivity. Great convenient parking lot adjacent to hotel and station. Perfect location to walk to shops and restaurants. Since we have children, our rooms were located in the Palace building...steps across the parking lot from the main hotel. The rooms were very lovely...separated from one another in quad style with a very nice, spacious bathroom. The beautiful decor and furnishings made it feel like home. The only complaint about the room we had was that every six or so minutes we heard an annoying electric buzzing sound coming from what seemed to be a small covered space on the ceiling in the hallway between two of the bedrooms. Strange but true. That and the complimentary breakfast was not good. Would have been nice to have had a banana or some kind of fresh fruit and a waffle maker for the kids.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Palmer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.