We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in Historic Durango” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added General Palmer Hotel to your Saves list
General Palmer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
“Good location in Historic Durango”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We enjoyed a 4 night stay at the General Palmer. The room and bath were updated and clean. The bed was very comfortable. We were pleased that we could walk to shops and restaurants. The hotel served excellent coffee, but the breakfast was disappointing. It would have been improved by some fresh fruit and pastries. We would stay again when we return to Durango and would recommend the hotel to couples wanting to get a real flavor of this great mountain town.

Room Tip: The elevator, though quaint, is a bit difficult to operate. If staying on the 3rd floor, you will l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    81
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
50
137
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I selected this hotel for its historical nature and décor. We arrived ~2 hours early and were told our room was not available. The front desk attendant gave a parking permit and took our mobile phone number to call when room was available. Nice large permit-only parking lot which is a plus due to the proximity to other downtown venues including the Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge RR depot. Once checked in, we were assigned a room in the Palace which is a separate, but adjacent building to the main hotel. While we initially wanted a room in the main hotel, we found the accommodations in the Palace quite nice. The room was very clean and charming with an 1800s décor. Note the furniture is also vintage and storage space is limited, both for hang up clothes as well as drawers. We had a single window that overlooked the train depot and we could hear the workings of the depot and train yard, including the train whistles and steam engines. While may be too noisy for some, closing the window did reduce noise. Since we enjoyed the sounds, we kept our window open... not to mention taking advantage of the nice cool nights. The bed while probably one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on, was high so keep in mind if you're physically challenged. The hotel is situated at the south end of the downtown area and as mentioned literally adjacent to the train depot. Most downtown shops, restaurants, and other attractions are within easy walking distance. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The only negative to our stay was the expectation of a well appointed continental breakfast bar (the hotel has no restaurant or bar). Envision going to your local grocery and buying frozen breakfast foods. While they did the best they could, the food they offered was disappointing. Plus, seating was limited so if you're there with many others, seating is a problem. We actually sat in the hall just outside where the breakfast was served and ate from our laps. The hotel would be better served to a) enhance the quality of the "complementary" breakfast bar or b) reduce price and do away with it altogether and perhaps provide a voucher to one of many local restaurants. Note, while the hotel does provide complementary coffee, there is a Starbucks just across the street. Overall, our stay was very pleasant and a good value for what we paid. We would likely stay here again on a future visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the General Palmer, it is right in Downtown, close to all the shops and the train station. I love the history of the building & my favorite was the journal singed by previous room guests that we found in our room. I was told this hotel is haunted (a fun fact I shared with my kids, which made the stay even more excited for them). It was a nice break from large impersonal chain hotels, lots of charm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2015
Hello Laurie
Thank you so much for your review of your stay here at the General Palmer Hotel. I think one of the best aspects of the hotel is the Historic Downtown location.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a wonderfully quaint hotel. Stumbled onto this place through Trip Advisor. We arrived in the early evening exhausted from a busy day. Just wanting a place to sleep. We found this 1898 hotel next to the train station in downtown Durango and we came alive with excitement. The owners have done a marvelous job of maintaining the atmosphere of the original place while providing modern comforts. The free breakfast, while not the greatest we saw on our trip, was served on China. Our wives were thrilled. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad to hear you liked the China, just an added little touch! We really had a great time choosing just the right pattern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

General Palmer is one of those typical old style hotels. The room was not small, but it was cluttered with antique furniture and offered no closet space to speak of. Upon arrival around 1 PM we were told we could not check-in before 4 PM, way too late. The next morning we tried the breakfast and left disgusted. The stale bread and weak coffee just did not make a decent breakfast. If you offer breakfast, offer at least fresh items and some variety. Will not return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Thank you for your review, this is how we learn to grow. We have made some great changes to both rooms and our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have stayed at another historic hotel in Denver and this one is definitely the nicest. My family enjoyed a one-night stay recently when passing through Denver. The positives have already been stated - great location near the train station and on Main Street for walking/street shopping, same building as a great dessert store, very nicely-updated room with comfortable beds - the room itself maintains the historic feel while also being clean and updated sufficiently. The bears on the beds were a nice touch for my kids. The staff was friendly and the bellman helpful. The breakfast was just okay, nothing to write home about and the seating was limited. My only "complaint" was the historic elevator - while "fun", it was also difficult to operate as the door (for safety reasons I'm sure) was very hard to keep open, and the luggage carts were tough to navigate with it - I probably should have let the bellman help! Very good (and free) parking convenient to the building. Price was reasonable, especially when compared with the chain hotels that did not have as good of a location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear, "Travel159549"
Thank you so much taking the time to leave a review of your stay here at the General Palmer. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the stay. I agree sometimes that old elevator can really be a challenge.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Booked our room back 8 months ago...with two queens needed. Upon arrival, we were offered joining rooms, each with a queen bed. This was awesome and allowed us much more room and two bathrooms. Stayed with my 7 and 11 year old boys....right next to Durango / Silverton Train Station...so wonderful views of trains and train yards. Super location....very easy to walk around the wonderful town. Breakfast was simple, but great....and good coffee. Coffee available downstairs anytime...which is great. Overall, great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear, "GPFarms"
Happy to hear you enjoyed the upgrade. Due to some remodeling we didn't have the original room configuration, but it sounds as though the change worked for you.
Thank you so much for leaving a review, I appreciate them all.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#1 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Palmer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.